Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Wisconsin

Fridgid Experience

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Close to the place we were going for the evening
Cons: Building construction and maintenance. Building design not appropriate for winters in Wisconsin
Location: Hotel is close to the interstate and easy to find. We ate breakfast at a nice family restaurant across the street from the hotel.
Arrived shortly after 3 pm check in time. Room was cold upon arrival but heater and blower were turned up to highest setting so assumed they had just turned up heat and room would warm up soon. Bathroom fan and light are operated by same switch. When lights were turned on, fan made a loud, irregular sounding noise like motor was not operating properly. Sewer gas was coming up from the sink making room stink. We ran water down drain to try to eliminate the bad odor in room. We changed clothes and left room to attend evening gathering with friends. Returned to room about midnight and requested an extra blanket from front desk just in case we needed it. Room was still extremely cold even though heater was set at highest setting (86 degrees) and running constantly. If we held hand over the top of the heater we could feel heat coming out, but we could also feel a strong cold draft coming up over the top of the heater from the wall. Not able to determine exact room temperature because heater displayed the heat setting not the room temperature. We slept covered with two blankets and a bedspread in our long underwear and sockss, close together to share each others body heat. It was a long cold night. If I knew how to get my money back, I would. Not a very nice way to start the new year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Lee Shipley, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the detail in your review. Please allow me to correct the problems you experienced. I would like to make things right. Did you talk to the front desk? They should have offered to move you to another room if available. The bathroom fans have been replaced or repaired as they were getting old. We are working on replacing the heaters as they too are starting to expire. Additional changes planned include: new carpet, furniture, counter tops, mattresses, drapes and sinks. Please come by again and experience the difference. Travel safe Lee Shipley, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Kenneth

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
This is a nice hotel and the location is convenient to local eating spots. The rooms are clean & comfortable, although the bathrooms could use updating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017
Thank you so much for staying with us, and for letting us know about your stay. We work hard to be the best we can be, and your compliments are greatly appreciated. The Hotel will be undergoing renovations in the future. We hope you visit us again to see the updates we will be having. Travel safe. - Lee Shipley, Mgr. Super 8 Sparta, WI
4 out of 5
by Michael

Clean room but not sound proof.

Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
Room was clean. Doors of rooms were not insulated. In the hall, you could hear people inside their rooms talking. In the room, you could hear people out in the hall. Not nice when it's 11:30 pm and you are woken up because of a group of people having a conversation in the hall. Also, I was bothered by the person above me. It sounded like they were stomping everywhere in their room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017
Thank you so much for staying with us, and for letting us know about your stay. The detail in your review is greatly appreciated. I would like to apologize regarding the noise concerns you had. Next time you stay with us please let us know about the noise so we can address it with the offending party. We do hold strict quiet hours after 11pm. We hope you visit us again to see the updates we will be having. Travel safe. - Lee Shipley, Mgr. Super 8 Sparta, WI
5 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017
Thank you so much for staying with us, and for letting us know about your stay. More detail in your review would be greatly appreciated. We hope you visit us again to see the updates we will be having. Travel safe. - Lee Shipley, Mgr. Super 8 Sparta, WI
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Met all of our expectations. Very accessible.

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Very accessible to the attractions we were in the area to visit.
Location: Visited many of the attractions in La Crosse, the grotto in Cataract, the museum for Laura Ingels in Pepin as well as the scenic river highway 33.
Overall a nice experience. Met some nice people at the motel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Lee Shipley, Mgr. Super 8 Sparta, WI, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us, and for letting us know about your stay. We work hard to be the best we can be, and your compliments are greatly appreciated. The Hotel will be undergoing renovations in the future. We hope you visit us again to see the updates we will be having. Travel safe. - Lee Shipley, Mgr. Super 8 Sparta, WI
3 out of 5
by Annemarie

Couple of issues.

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was average, quiet. Two problems we had. After our first night, we went out the next day at 10:30AM, did not return till 5 or 6PM, room was not cleaned. We had the "do not disturb" sign up until we left at 10:30AM, which in my opinion is not a late time to leave, and still have the room cleaned. The second issue was with the swimming pool. We went to go swimming on Tuesday evening, only to find out the pool is used from 5 to 8 for a children's swimming class. Hot tub was open and we used that, but the pool room was very noisy with all the children. This should be noted that the pool is not available at certain times. Hotel personnel were very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017
Thank you so much for staying with us, and for letting us know about your stay. We work hard to be the best we can be, and your compliments are greatly appreciated. The detail in your review is greatly appreciated. I would like to follow-up with you regarding the housekeeping concerns you had. Regarding the pool, again we apologize. Most of the time we remember to inform guests that the pool will be in use at certain times. Guests ARE allowed to swim during the classes, however I can understand it can be undesirable with the pool full of kids and lifeguards (the only time we have lifeguards). The Hotel will be undergoing renovations in the future. We hope you visit us again to see the updates we will be having. Travel safe. - Lee Shipley, Mgr. Super 8 Sparta, WI
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for the price

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Was not aware that room was on second floor with no elevator. Had 3 elderly people with me that could not do stairs well. Was told because of 3rd party booking they could not change the room. We made do but I will ask about this next time I book with Expedia. Otherwise the hotel was very nice for the price
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us, and for letting us know about your stay. We work hard to be the best we can be, and your compliments are greatly appreciated. If you would like to follow-up with me regarding the booking concerns you had, please contact us directly. The Hotel will be undergoing renovations in the future, but as of yet we do not plan to install an elevator. We hope you visit us again to see the updates we will be having. Travel safe. - Lee Shipley, Mgr. Super 8 Sparta, WI
3 out of 5
by Deb from Brownsville wi

Better than the 1st hotel we booked!

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
1st room we received was musty smelling. We requested a new room which was much better. Pool/spa was just Ok. Really needed to be cleaned well and all the wood needed a facelift. Breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017
Thank you so much for staying with us, and for letting us know about your stay. The detail regarding what made your stay so good and what we could do to earn five stars from you is appreciated. We are planning renovations soon, including updates to the pool area! We hope you visit us again to see the updates we will be having. Travel safe. - Lee Shipley, Mgr. Super 8 Sparta, WI
4 out of 5
by Sara

Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017
Thank you so much for staying with us, and for letting us know about your stay. More detail regarding what made your stay so good and what we could do to earn five stars from you would be appreciated. We are planning renovations soon! We hope you visit us again to see the updates we will be having. Travel safe. - Lee Shipley, Mgr. Super 8 Sparta, WI
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Clean and reasonable

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Staff were attentive and friendly. Breakfast was good. Room was clean. Good location close to interstate highway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by Lee Shipley, Mgr. Super 8 Sparta, WI, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us, and for letting us know about your stay. We work hard to be the best we can be, and your compliments are greatly appreciated. The Hotel will be undergoing renovations in the future. We hope you visit us again to see the updates we will be having. Travel safe.