Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

didn't get the room that was booked and paid for

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Pros: not
Cons: The stay was completely unacceptable
Location: ok
was never told where to find the room and it was in a different bldg. than the room that I booked and paid for. The keys didn't work in the door and had to have assistance to get in. They took about 20 minutes to get the door open as well. Upon entering the room was about 60 degrees and tried to turn the heat on and the fire alarms went off from turning it on. Turned it back off. Later upon returning after 200 am the room was still freezing and turned the heat on again and the fire alarms went off again so I turned it back off and had to freeze to death. Too cold to sleep. The room was not worth paying for and should get a refund based on the fact that the room wasn't the room that was reserved to begin with. finally requested a receipt for the stay and they wouldn't give one as they said they come from expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2017 by Malisa V, General Manager, Days Inn Spencer, Hotel Management
Sir/Madam: I apologize that your stay was not as you would have liked. It is normal practice for online booking agencies to book people into the East building as it is less expensive since the pool and hot tub are located in the West building (and they want to help you save money!). We would always be more than happy to have you call us directly at the hotel to confirm where your room has been booked, as your satisfaction is important to us. We would also be delighted to pre-warm your room for you, as you are right, on occasion (no matter how many times it is vacuumed) when the electric heat is first turned on in the fall it may produce smoke and/or a bad smell. This passes quickly, but has been know to set off alarms within the rooms momentarily. On one hand, it is good to know the alarms are keeping you safe - but yes, it can be quite annoying if you are not used to it! Either way, no matter what you are having an issue with, we are always happy to be at your service and make things right. YOU are very important to us, and we will always go out of our way to do our best by you for any request you make. Please do keep this in mind and come stay with us again, as we would love a chance to improve your opinion! Oh! I almost forgot! It is standard practice for online booking agencies to block prices paid by you from our view and not to print them to our check out receipts - so yes, you would have to get a receipt from Expedia if you wanted to see the prices you paid. I do apologize for that as well, but it is their policy. Thank you again for your review, and I do hope you will come and see us again sometime!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermillion, SD

solid hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: quiet and clean
Cons: water temperature fluctuated in the shower
I booked a room at this hotel a day before I stayed there. It was hunting season, but we got in. No noise complaints. Clean room. Great breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Malisa V, Hotel Management
Steven, Thank you for your review! As you know, we love having our hunters here and I apologize that there were issues with the water temperature fluctuating in your shower. I will have our maintenance look into that. Meanwhile, do come see us again soon...and thanks again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Dodge, Iowa

nice greeting when we arrived.

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Nice place. Pool and hot tub were VERY warm, so wasn't inviting for us. Great to have extended hours for adults to visit the pool/hot tub. Nice room. Remodeling had been done and they missed a tack strip but were pleasant when we told them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Malisa V, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are currently addressing the problem with the warmth in the pool area, and it should be new soon. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in future - when we can really "wow" you!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
had to stay in hadycap room, did not get told this until I went to room,
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Malisa V, Hotel Management
I apologize that your room was not to your liking. Quite often the accessible rooms get booked first by online services as they are the least expensive. We will always be happy to change up rooms for you if availability allows - and look forward to doing our best to make sure you have a happy stay next time you visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great staff, clean and quiet, perfect location

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Everything
The staff that welcomed us was wonderful, helpful and friendly. The hotel is clean, the room was comfortable, the pool was clean. The hotel was in a quiet area close to everything you would need. It was also a bargain for Labor Day weekend and only a 15 to 20 minute drive to Okoboji. Way cheaper than the Okoboji hotels. We would definitely stay there again and recommend this hotel to everyone. The free breakfast had everything you could want and then some.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Malisa, Hotel Management
Kathy, Wow! Your review leaves me breathless! Thank you so much for such overwhelming praise - it means a lot. On the reverse, this hotel seems to attract the best of the best guests, so having you all here makes us very happy as well - and keeps us wanting to do better and better each and every day. Thank you again! Hope to see you and yours soon :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

very good all around

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: nice staff.
Location: close to all that Spencer has to offer.
good overall rooms and breakfast, great staff.Plenty of parking, good pool for the kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Malisa Vallie, Days Inn Spencer, Hotel Management
Nick, thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and hope you will come see us again soon :)
3 out of 5
by richard

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017
Richard, Thank you for your review. If there is ever anything we can do to improve your stay - just let us know! Hope to see you in future. Malisa V - Days Inn Spencer
5 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017
Paul, Thank you for the great review! We love to have our guests feedback and we strive to do our best to make your stay as welcoming and happy as possible! Come see us again :) Malisa Vallie, Days Inn SPencer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Staff was extremely helpful.
Extremely helpful staff when a room was needed before checkin time to change for a wedding having driven from out of state.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Jenny, Hotel Management
At Days Inn Spencer we are eager to accommodate the needs of our guests and I am glad to hear we did just that for you. Thank you for reviewing our service and for your business!
4 out of 5
by Larry

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017
Thank you for rating the Days Inn Spencer after your current stay. We love to hear from our guests and appreciate you taking the time to help us and other guests out by providing your stay experience. Hope to see you back!