Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Patrizia from New York

One of the best beach locations in Italy

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
Sperlonga was beautiful! we have visited many beaches throughout Italy and this has become one of our favorite! the hotel is in a good location and the restaurant at the hotel was first rate!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greater New York

Walk to all and a pool to boot!

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Pool, friendly staff, nice breakfast and breakfast area
Cons: WiFi needs to be made stronger.
Location: walk to the beach, see history, go eat, stay in and go to the pool, relax
This hotel has an easy walk-to-all location, is quiet, has an very nice pool (on the small side) and attractive pool area. The staff was very helpful, e.g. I asked for restaurant recommendations and got great advice plus a map on how to get there. Everything was clean. My only beef was that the WiFi connection in my room was too weak to use so I had to sit in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 17, 2015
This hotel is just a few minutes walk from the beach,local shops and restaurants and would recommend it. Only comment would be that our room on the third floor had a sloping ceiling so had to be very careful in the bathroom especially for 6ft plus men! I struggled and I am only 5ft 2.5!
4 out of 5
by anthony from Billericay

Bitter sweet

Posted Jun 23, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel .com site neglected to say that the room would be in the attic ! with limited head room and a floor level 2 foot sq window,the route to it was very convoluted requiring 2 lifts. parking is no existent in the area so you have to use the underground garage e7 per night OK the hotel is very smart and the breakfast brilliant it does have a nice private beach, take the courtesy bus as its a trek
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Clean room; friendly staff
Cons: Don't charge extra for beach umbrella and chair; provide beach towel
Location: Little bit far from the beach
You need to pay 15-20 euro every day to use beach umbrella and chair; no beach towel was provided.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Return to sperlonga.

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels
This was our second visit to Grand Virgilio, its in a great position, the staff were superb, friendly and helpful. We chose an economy room, this was fine for us, but as its a mansard, dont get much of a view. Hotel is very clean we will certainly stay again.Sperlonga is a beautiful resort, we like it out of season, old town is beautiful and easy to get to from hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels
Everything was perfect for us except if you enjoy a cuppa take a travel kettle. No kettle for the room but the staff were always happy to provide a teapot of hot water when requested.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Nice hotel but be aware of attack rooms - Bohème

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The pool area is very nice
Cons: Need to explain the style of room on the Expedia web sight. I check for future bookings an there is still no mention of a "Boheme" room.
Location: The location is excellent a short walk from the beach and the old town.
I booked this hotel in Jan 2014 for a 9 day stay in Aug. On booking I had a choice of Standard or Superior room with King bed. I opted for the Superior Room because advanced booking the prices were very good. However when we arrived at the hotel we were given an attack "Boheme" room with approx 30cm window. We asked to be changed and as the hotel was full we ended up in 4 different rooms over our 9 day stay, spending 5 of these in the attack rooms. I feel that Expedia needs to include the "Boheme" as a separate room on their booking as on my paper work there was only mention of a King bed but on the paperwork the hotel had from Expedia it quoted a "Boheme". We knew of these "Boheme" rooms as we stayed in this hotel before, previously only booked a standard room but had a lovely room with a balcony. We are a couple in our 50's and while the rooms were well appointed and very clean, we had no desire to spend our stay it an attack room. We understood that the hotel was fully booked and at first they were helpful. But after 3 room changes we were told that this was the final change, only to be approached 2 days later while sitting at the pool to go back to the attack room for the final 4 days. We were given 5 mins to pack up and knowing that we were so upset they did give us an attack room with a bigger window. There was air cond. but it was still extremely hot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Good location and very helpful staff

Posted Jul 30, 2014
We only stayed for one night in Sperlonga but would definitely return to Virgilio Grand Hotel to stay again! Only a 1 minute stroll down the road to the beach and restaurants. The staff were all very accommodating and polite. The breakfast which was included was great. I