Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and comfortable

Posted Jun 24, 2017
The Virgilio is an excellent choice in Sperlonga. The rooms are spacious and the entire hotel is immaculate. The place is beautiful and the staff attentive. It has a view and is on a hill but close to everything including a private beach, which was perfect. The pool was awesome, too. Breakfast was included and had delicious pastries and eggs and fantastic coffee. My only complaints are that they could have varied the food they serve each day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted May 25, 2017
We had to call the hotel last minute to arrange a taxi to pick us up from the station as we got to there late at night, and they sent someone right away . The hotel is a short walking distance to the beach. Our room was changed to one with a better view (facing the beach). Wi-fi wasn't too good in our room on second floor, but all round very pleased with their excellent customer service. Sperlonga is a beautiful and lovely town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was in a good location about 300 metres from the beach. The staff at the hotel reception were quite friendly and helpful. The room was well maintained and clean with an excellent shower unit in a bath. It had a free safe with fridge stocked with complimentary water and soft drinks for when you arrive. The breakfast was continental style with bacon and scrambled eggs for something different. Service in the breakfast room was a bit hit or miss, sometimes they would ask you if you wanted tea or coffee, sometimes they wouldn't ( some of the staff looks as if they had been there to long - but not all ). The bar and lounge area was comfy and kept very clean. The pool area a plentiful supply of loungers and parasols and a well stocked bar that served a nice selection of bar snacks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice comfortable hotel near beach

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Comfort, location, quality of service
Cons: we missed bathrobes and slippers at the room, also towels at the pool.
We spent three nights at the hotel, overall are very happy with the quality of the hotel and service. Breakfast was super - wide variety of pastries, fruit and cheese and meat. the hotel was fully packed and we were located in a room below the ground floor. However the staff was helpful enough to move us to a nicer room in the first floor - a spacious comfortable room with a balcony. The hotel has a private beach within 15 minute walk from the hotel - it is possible to get there walking along the beach for a good exercise. the only negative is that no towels are provided at the pool area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel in quiet location

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: The position
Location: Visit the old town and Tiberius's grotto.
A nice hotel in a convenient location a few minutes walk from the beach. Lovely pool area although thought 10 Euros for the hire of 2 towels for a few hours one afternoon was excessive. Breakfast was adequate. Staff were friendly although not particularly effective. Our room was a good size and very comfortable
5 out of 5
by Patrizia from New York

One of the best beach locations in Italy

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
Sperlonga was beautiful! we have visited many beaches throughout Italy and this has become one of our favorite! the hotel is in a good location and the restaurant at the hotel was first rate!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greater New York

Walk to all and a pool to boot!

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Pool, friendly staff, nice breakfast and breakfast area
Cons: WiFi needs to be made stronger.
Location: walk to the beach, see history, go eat, stay in and go to the pool, relax
This hotel has an easy walk-to-all location, is quiet, has an very nice pool (on the small side) and attractive pool area. The staff was very helpful, e.g. I asked for restaurant recommendations and got great advice plus a map on how to get there. Everything was clean. My only beef was that the WiFi connection in my room was too weak to use so I had to sit in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 17, 2015
This hotel is just a few minutes walk from the beach,local shops and restaurants and would recommend it. Only comment would be that our room on the third floor had a sloping ceiling so had to be very careful in the bathroom especially for 6ft plus men! I struggled and I am only 5ft 2.5!
4 out of 5
by anthony from Billericay

Bitter sweet

Posted Jun 23, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel .com site neglected to say that the room would be in the attic ! with limited head room and a floor level 2 foot sq window,the route to it was very convoluted requiring 2 lifts. parking is no existent in the area so you have to use the underground garage e7 per night OK the hotel is very smart and the breakfast brilliant it does have a nice private beach, take the courtesy bus as its a trek