Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, on the beach

Posted Apr 7, 2017
This is a wonderful hotel right on the beach in its own private bay. Well run with friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Nice hotel in a beautiful beach cove location

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: I liked the dive shop, the staff there, the equipment, and the dive boat. The Dive Shop (Blue Waters Dive'n) is organized, experienced, and friendly.
Cons: More beach towels. Put some information in the room (in the folder) with transport, trail/running, boat, bird, and scuba diving information.
Location: I loved the location. This is not a city/urban location. It is relaxing and beautiful. Everything you need is at the hotel.
The hotel is situated in a cove with the beach right at your doorstep. The view is amazingly beautiful and the waves literally lap at your doorstep. The rooms are comfortable with air conditioning, a ceiling fan and modern bathrooms. A little maintenance - such as replacing light bulbs, worn blinds, and re-painting, etc. would go a long way to make these rooms excellent. There are safes in the rooms which are especially convenient for beach and water activities. The restaurant sits looking towards the beautiful beach cove and has been renovated with open-air shaded tables with ceiling fans; there is also another section of the restaurant with indoor air-conditioned seating. The restaurant has excellent food for the most part, with a varied menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner, as well as appetizers available for the rest of the day. The service is island slow, so be prepared. The waitstaff varies, with some friendly and accommodating while others are just overwhelmed and curt. The bar area is next to the restaurant and has a nice bar with bar seating, shaded cocktail tables and outdoor tables. The bartenders are happier (understandably so -- they don't have to deal with slow food service for the most part) and friendlier, so the bar is a pleasant place to drink, snack, and hang-out. The bartenders need to keep the television tuned to sports for the most part with the volume down, and keep the music playing. The music was not always playing and it is really a nice selection
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hospitable Hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet, close to the beach .
Special rewards to all the staff at the Hotel . The menu was adequate and very flexible to our special needs, Erica Oxley and Sylister on the food and drink area were very pleasant and professional. Room Cleaning services we would like to express our deepest appreciation to Adina and Mary their went beyond their duties and made special room decoration for our Honeymoon they also showed high professional levels and customer satisfaction . They are lead to be follow by the rest of the staff member. Thank You all .
4 out of 5
by Mark

A review worth reading

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Hotels
If you are looking for panache, super attentive staff, squeaky clean facilities and what you would perhaps demand from a western style hotel, look somewhere else. For that matter, pass on Tobago. If however, you love having your soul cleansed by warn breezes, a magnificent bay, stunning waters, friendly staff, a mesmerizing view from your room, little birds politely stepping up to your door looking for a little morsel and good food in an intimate environment, you simply cannot beat this hotel. We can't say enough about how great this place made us feel. Our biggest regret was not staying longer. We met vacationers who had been there year after year, sometimes for weeks on end. And we understand why. This is an escape from everything you've previously experienced. It is rough around the edges and slow paced, but you must expect that. Also expect spotty wi-fi, poor TV connection, laundry services - except machines not working so not, food on the menu not actually an option and half a day to get an extra roll of toilet paper. But man, what this place does give you is a re-connection to your soul, a magical environment that you cannot help but embrace. I honestly can say our stay here was the most medicinal, peaceful and grounding in a long long while. I could go on, but you get the idea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ossining, NY. USA

Comfortable room with views.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Clean and friendly- everything worked well. Great place to stay for the Little Tobago tour and Scuba diving.
The resort was comfortable, staff was friendly and food was tasty. There were many activities available- bird watching, snorkeling, Scuba diving, swimming... We felt pampered, even after staying at a nice resort a few days earlier near Grafton Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lougborough UK

Wonderful location

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, food and our room.
Cons: Maintenance of the infrastructure.
Location: Swimming, snorkelling, diving all excellent. Trips to Little Tobago and for diving etc leave from the jetty at the hotel. Birding in the Rain Forest.
We spent a most enjoyable ten days at BWI and enjoyed the remarkable quiet location on the beach with great access to the sea and surrounding bird life. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the food was good - especially the breakfast - and our room was spacious and comfortable. The ocean view was rather limited by trees but it was a great location for some of the birds. We enjoyed a couple of excellent trips - one to Little Tobago and one to the rain forest - great for bird life. We had a car for part of the time and travelled around the northern part of the island - there was little traffic although the roads were variable in condition. The hotel suited us very well and we had no problems although it does need a little maintenance and refreshing in some areas - other guests had some issues with plumbing and air conditioning in their rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Great room view, overlooking the ocean, the warm and friendly staff are and added bonus. Nice place to capture special moments.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great Location But Could Have Been So Much Better

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Arrived late to the hotel (delays in transport) only to find the restaurant and kitchen had closed 10 minutes before. No room service so we had to buy a packet of chips from the bar for something to eat. Took three key changes to be able to access our room. The rooms themselves were decent, a good size and clean but the bed was too hard and uncomfortable and the pillows were lumpy and sheets/bedding felt like we were in a hospital. We both woke with sore backs and necks. TV in the room didn't really work and we couldn't get any wifi in the room either. The resort is set in beautiful grounds, plants and trees were well kept and the beach was fantastic too. However the breakfast buffet was haphazard and food wasn't really replaced when it ran out. Had to wait about 40 mins for an omelette and then it didn't have the ingredients I asked for. The staff for the most part, looked disengaged and unmotivated. One lady was helpful but most seemed bored and appeared to have forgotten they were providing a service. The 'fine dining' restaurant wasn't that great, I think guests would prefer to try local authentic Tobagan dishes rather than quasi-French 'high end' dishes cooked using frozen produce. We had to sent the desserts back as they were old, stale and inedible. It's such a shame, as the place itself is located in a beautiful bay and with just a little more attention to service, wifi boosters and a change in food on the menu could have made this a fabulous experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Secluded get away

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Great breakfast included, great service with friendly people and epic diving. Overall great stay and very secluded, if you are looking to walk the town it is a hike. Food is very American with not much local flair, but prepared with good quality ingredients. Lots of activities on site, tennis, basketball, Foosball, diving, kayaks, glass bottom boats, swimming, bird watching, and paddle boards. The infinity edge pool and spa looks great but was out of service and green during our stay, otherwise this place would have been 5 star.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel gorgeous beach poor service and food

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
Good: Location on a secluded beach, direct beach access, dive centre on site, free kayaks, friendly hotel staff Not so good: Isolated location, car essential. There are few good local restaurants, most were closed in the evening. Food at hotel was average to mediocre and expensive. Eggs benedict served on soggy brown bread, 3 dishes in one evening meal took 45 mns to arrive and were cold, lobster and fish another evening were so salty they were inedible, service extremely slow. Dive centre is DIY with disinterested staff, one morning the first dive was cancelled as it was a national holiday and the boatman decided to take the day off! Staff in desk poorly informed about excursions such as trails in rainforest.