Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by WEILI

good choice for spiez

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
very nice hotel facing the lake, nice view, nice staff, only the garden is in renovation.
1 out of 5
by Dan

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is going through renovation (about two meters from our first floor window), so if your concept of an alps vacation includes spending time at a construction site, this is the place for you. We were offered a different room on the second floor, same level of noise. In order to enjoy "lake view" from the room, one must stand at the right corner of the room and then one sees a piece of lake in the distance. The terrace is nice though and the view from the terrace is charming. If you fancy a hotel in Spiez which is NOT on the lake and which is being renovated, this is a reasonable choice. NO AIRCONDITIONING in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017
Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We deeply apologise for the inconvenience! In the last few days the noise coming from the construction site of our new wellness area was unfortunately on a higher level than usual. We deeply apologise! However we hope to welcome you back at the hotel on another day – in all tranquillity. Kind regards Jürgen Kögler – Director Hotel Eden Spiez
5 out of 5
by Eugene

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2015 by Michel, Hotel Management
Dear Eugene Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travellers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. If you're traveling to our area gain soon, don't hesitate to call us.Take care! Kindest regards, Michel Mabillard Director of Sales & Marketing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous!

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: The staff are definitely to be commended. The rooms are lovely, and a good size. Ours even had a balcony.
Cons: I'm not a fan of the sliding frosted glass doors leading to the bathroom.
Location: Spiez is absolutely beautiful. There is plenty to do: hiking, bike riding, canoeing, swimming, or just sitting back and admiring the scenery.
The hotel staff were absolutely brilliant. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The rooms are not equipped with kettles, but one was found and provided to us within minutes of us mentioning that we'd like to make a cup of tea. We arrived to the hotel a little late in the evening, after the restaurant had stopped serving dinner, but the kitchen staff were still happy to cook for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2015 by Michel, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. Don't hesitate to call us if there's anything we can help you with for your next trip. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Yours sincerely, Michel Mabillard Director of Sales & Marketing
5 out of 5
by Shan

Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2015 by Michel, Hotel Management
Dear Happy Guest. Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travellers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care! Yours sincerely, Michel Mabillard Director of Sales & Marketing
5 out of 5
by World Traveller from London

Fantastic hotel!!

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels
Highky recommended - the hotel was clean and excellent, the breakfast was wonderful. And the view from our balcony - like something from a chocolate box!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Best hotel I stayed at in my entire European trip!

Posted Jun 30, 2014
This hotel has everything you need with a reasonable price and a lot in return. It was a great experience and we'll definitely do this again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry from Frodsham, Cheshire West and Chester WA6, UK

Good hotel, but no air conditioning

Posted Jun 28, 2013
Pros: Clean and comfortable, good food
Cons: No air conditioning/ hot rooms. Lack of views from balcony
Location: Spietz is well placed for using the lake. Good selection of restaurants. Hotel is mid way between lake and station
The hotel is a good quality hotel with good facilities. The staff are helpful and pleasant. The hotel is situated about half way down a fairly steep road to the lake. One problem is that the website is only in German and it is not possible to find out about facilities without knowledge of the language; e. g. we only found out that they offered a minibus service from the station by reading a Trip Advisor review. They have both mountain and lake views. Unfortunately the hotel does not face the lake so neither offer great views. The major problem we encountered is that they do not have air conditioning and the bedrooms get very hot at night; the outside temperature in the day was around 24 degrees. We left the window wide open all day and night to try to keep cool, but had to suffer traffic noise and the sound of the church clock every quarter hour. In this respect paying a little more for a lake view room might be a little better
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Not Impressed

Posted Sep 5, 2009
The Eden Hotel in Spiez was classified as 4 * but did not meet our expectations. Our bedroom was the worst problem - small, gloomy and noisy. There was no bath - a small cubicle about 4ft x 5ft contained a shower, toilet and basin. The view from the bedroom was of two building sites not mountains as specified. The bed was only about 6 - 8 inches off the floor - too low for my wife's arthritis. No air-conditioning despite temps of +30C.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Wonderful Stay

Posted Jun 1, 2009 on Hotels
This is all one would expect in a four star hotel: great staff, very attentive, an amazing buffet breakfast included, and, the best part, amazing views of the Alps. We found Spiez to be a quieter staging area than interlaken and very nice. They were great with helping us get around the city - excellent management. My wife especially liked the Toblerone on the pillow each night The hotel is more than we wanted to pay, but all things considered it was a great value for the money. CH is expensive.