Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2018
staff recommended Friday night fish fry, turned out great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2018 by GM, Hotel Management
Happy to here you enjoyed the fish fry. Thank You for reviewing us. Hope to see you again when your visiting our beautiful area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mpls, MN

Pool area was nice, would have enjoyed a few vendi

Posted Jan 30, 2018
Pool area was nice, would have enjoyed a few vending machines. Nice quiet, comfortable stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2018 by Fannie M., Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed our indoor heated pool and area. We are sorry our location doesn't have any vending machines but we do have a nicely stocked Mart located near the lobby area with many different refreshments and treats, Please visit us , the next time you are in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad staff

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Staff was rude, Matt in particular. Told me I could probably check in at noon when I called 2 days ahead. Wouldn’t put my name down and was very short with me. Called back day of check in and made me feel dumb for asking even though he recommended I call back morning of check in. When we finally checked in he wouldn’t even look at me, was rude, didn’t tell us about breakfast, nothing. Next day charged me $20 extra because we had 4 people in the room which I didn’t know mattered. These people didn’t seem to care if we were happy, didn’t apologize for any inconvenience, etc. Not staying again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2018 by Fannie M., Hotel Management
Thank You for writing a review as all guest feedback is important to us. I'm sorry you weren't pleased with your stay with us. I am happy that we were able to get you checked in 3 hours before our check in time. I'm very sorry it wasn't sooner but as you know it was a very busy weekend with Winter Games in our area. We do care about about your happiness with your stay as we do every guest. I do apologize for any of your inconvenience and if your felt our staff was rude to you, and would have been happy to address the concern at that time if I had known. I hope you stay with us again and we have the chance to impress you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Quiet, clean hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Our room was very clean. The hotel staff were very helpful and pleasant. Very nice breakfast served in the morning. Loved that the windows opened!
Cons: The pull out bed was very uncomfortable. The pool and hot tub area could use an upgrade as there was paint chipping off of the hot tub.
Location: Great location close to restaurants, gas stations and shopping.
Spent one night in this hotel. Check in was easy and staff was great. We will certainly use this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking time to review us. We are very happy you were pleased with your stay and accommodations. I agree, the pull out couches are not as comfortable as they could be. We are excited that our updating projects that we have planned includes new pullout couches and so much more! Looking forward to seeing you on your next return to the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Front desk is responsive to concerns

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: friendly, helpful staff. Clean, well-stocked breakfast area. Quiet. Rooms/bathrooms are updated.
Cons: beds could be more comfortable, AC units in rooms are LOUD when they come on.
Location: Convenient location to most things in Okoboji (by car). Close to Walmart. Not a scenic location, but close to a major roadway.
We were looking for a comfortable experience on a budget, when visiting the area. We definitely found it here. We had reserved a suite. Upon check-in, our first room smelled like smoke :(. I went down to the front desk to let them know, and ask if they had any suggestions, as both my daughter and I are sensitive to the smell. They apologized and moved us right away. Our new room was much better. The breakfast was simple, yet sufficient (muffins, hard boiled eggs, make your own waffles, cereals and yogurt etc), and they kept the breakfast area very clean and well stocked. The front desk staff was very nice and welcoming, and I was in the lobby when another guest came to complain about his room not being clean upon check in, and they promptly gave him another room. Things happen, but the way staff reacts to concerns says a lot about the hotel. As far as location, it is very close to a walmart (perfect to pick up those last minute things you may have forgotten), and just a very short drive from the Okoboji lakes. Not a scenic location, but a convenient one :). My only negative is that the beds/pillows were not super comfortable IMO, and I didn't sleep all that well. Also, the wall AC was SO loud. It would come on and off throughout the night and would wake me up. Overall, I would stay here again if I were in the area and looking for a low cost lodging option.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review us. Thank you so much for noticing our efforts to do everything possible to ensure every guest has a clean and comfortable stay. We are very fortunate to have a great caring staff. We hope to see you and your daughter the next time you are in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa Falls, IA

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Clean and near by attractions.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Lake, shopping
Nothing to complain about. Good clean hotel. Near attractions. Checked in early which was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Room was cleaned while I left for the day. Clean nice hotel, refrigerator in room. breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next stay!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel from HELL!

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Woken up from a sound sleep at 1:30 am by pounding on the door and yelling "wake up, wake up". Drunk passed out in hall. Police trying to find where he was staying. No prior warning from hotel staff. Heart was pounding, didn't sleep all night. Hotel said wasn't their fault.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry about your experience while staying with us. We have put precautions in order for this not to happen again. We try very hard to make sure our guest isn't disturbed and can get a great nights sleep, we did fall short that one particular night and I'm very sorry .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Hotel With Convenient Location

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Convenience of the location,
Cons: Recommend updated bed linens, especially the comforter.
Location: Spirit lake area is only a few miles away with many restaurants, marina and amusement park. We also enjoyed Gull Point Park.
The hotel was very convenient for us for our final destination. The staff was extremely accommodating and very friendly. Last minute additional reservations were taken care of at a discounted rate as well. I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017 by t, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing us. We are very pleased everything worked out well on your visit to the area, I agree it is a great location. We are also very pleased that some updating is in the plans to do very soon. Hopefully you will make it back to our area and stay with us!
4 out of 5
by Kari

Good

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
Great, quick. Breakfast wasn't great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017
Thank you for taking time to review us. I'm very sorry you didn't find our breakfast great. We have updated it recently with more choices and still looking for ideas and suggestions to please every guest. We offer boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, donuts, muffins, toast, English muffins, bagels, pancakes, waffles, both in a flavor or original. Also biscuits and gravy and more.