Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Gregory

Family Vacation to Spirit Lake

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
Although this was a non smoking hotel, our room reeked of smoke. Called down to the front desk to request a different room and was told they were completely booked and nothing was available. When checking out the front desk clerk said the 2nd floor used to be smoking, before the rooms were remodeled, and they can't get rid of the smell. Now the good. Our room looked like it had been newly remodeled especially the bathroom. Room had great amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave, and flat screen TV. Would maybe stay here again but on the first floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope you stay with us again and we are sorry for any inconveniences. Respectfully, Jade Mankle General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
It was very nice. The beds I'm sure was fine, but It was a little hard for me. For my guest it was wonderful. Will stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017
Thank you so much for the outstanding review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We want to thank you for sharing your experience with others. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Respectfully, Jade Mankle General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sioux Falls SD

Super clean

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Updated rooms and bathrooms. Nicely done. Fresh, super clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Super 8, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the outstanding review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We want to thank you for sharing your experience with others. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Respectfully, Jade Mankle General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017
Thank you so much for the outstanding review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We want to thank you for sharing your experience with others. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Respectfully, Jade Mankle General Manager
5 out of 5
by Nicole

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
It was a really nice hotel! Customer service was great. Room was up to date and clean! Very comfortable and great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017
Thank you so much for the outstanding review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We want to thank you for sharing your experience with others. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Respectfully, Jade Mankle General Manager
4 out of 5
by David

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, close to the lake. The only down fall was the room was not cleaned Saturday while we were on the ;lake for the day. We got back to the room around 11:30 pm and it had not been cleaned.. Very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am very sorry about the inconvenience with your room. I will talk with my staff. I hope next time you are in the area you give us a second chance. Respectfully, Jade Mankle General Manager
5 out of 5
by Robert

Tom left the light on for us!!

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
I heard that Tom was going to leave the light on for us, just had to stay there. Surprise they had a full breakfast for us and it was good stuff. It was close to the wedding we were going to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017
Thank you so much for the outstanding review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We want to thank you for sharing your experience with others. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Respectfully, Jade Mankle General Manager
5 out of 5
by Tina

Great place to stay!

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Completely remodeled and the staff is very friendly. Will definitely stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017
Thank you so much for the outstanding review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We want to thank you for sharing your experience with others. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Respectfully, Jade Mankle General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carroll IA

Great place to stay!!

Posted Jul 13, 2017
I stayed one night but it was very nice, yeah is a bit far from the lake but its worth the price!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Super 8, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the outstanding review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We want to thank you for sharing your experience with others. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. Respectfully, Jade Mankle General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marion, Iowa

Nicely Remodeled property

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Nicely remodeled, good value
Cons: Try to get rid of the smell of cigarette smoke in the rooms now that it is a non-smoking property.
Location: Location is not on the lake, but convenient location to restaurants and shops. Only a 5 minute drive to one of the many lakes in the area.
We booked the Super 8 last minute after finding a great rate on Expedia. I was skeptical because we usually stay at Hilton and Marriott properties and it has been 20 years since I have stayed in a Super 8. I was happy with this property upon arrival. There is a nice fire pit and Adirondack chairs outside and a nicely decorated lobby. The rooms were also very nicely updated with modern touches in the bathroom. The room seemed to be very clean; however, it was all new so the challenge will be for them to keep the rooms looking nice and new. The only thing that kept me from giving the property a 5 star review was that the room smelled of smoke. We found this a bit concerning since there are signs throughout the hotel that state it is a non-smoking hotel. Luckily it was a beautiful night and we were able to sleep with our window open for fresh air. Upon checkout, I expressed my concern with the front desk and was told that the room we were in was a smoking room before the remodel. Even with new paint, carpet and linens, the smell of smoke lingered. Hopefully they will continue to work on "airing out" the rooms. Overall, I wouldn't mind staying here again but would request a room that had never been smoked in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Super 8, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you liked the updates. We appreciate your input and will continue to work on getting rid of the lingering smoke smell.