Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, PA USA

Enjoyable

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Gordana and her sister were welcoming, spoke fairly good English and gave us good advice on how to navigate around the city. Yes there are a lot of steps but this is to be expected unless you are willing to pay for a beachfront hotel. A good deal all in all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just fine

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is a little tricky to find, but once you get to know the area it's quite close to everything. The staff was very helpful, the breakfast was fine(instant coffee) but a nice little room for breakfast. I would say the room was Spartan but very clean. The staff showed us another way to the old town through a park with great views of the old town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, easy walk to town.

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Good bed.
Location: Location a bit down market, but close to old town.
Clean and comfortable, good bed, friendly staff. Neighbourhood a bit ordinary, but no problems and an easy walk to old town.
3 out of 5
by Alvaro from Spain

Neither here nor there

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was friendly. The room was ok, although I already came in with low expectations. The fridge wasn't working. Location was not very nice, but it was a short wal away from both, the old town and a nice park where Bebe beach was at.
3 out of 5
by bart from Goole

hotel stay

Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
not perfect location you can find better for the price
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet relaxing accommodation

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
This is a family run local hotel. A bit difficult to find as it sits back off the road. The hotel is in a quiet residential area and very convenient to the Old Town, Split football stadium, parks, shops and cafés. Though a bit tired inside the hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The bedrooms are a good size,. The continental breakfast is basic but good. I would recommend this hotel for a no frills good holiday accommodation. I hope to return ASAP as there is so much to see and do in Split and this is the perfect base.
1 out of 5
by Robert from New York

Do not trust this place

Posted May 31, 2015 on Hotels
First I will start with the positive aspects: 1) It is an easy 10-15 minute walk into the old town 2) parking is good and available 3) The wi-fi was reliable 4) It was VERY clean The brochure and photos from this place do not represent it well. We had a balcony, but the railing was rusted, there were 2 chairs, one was totally demolished and the other was just held together. Had I sat in the one chair it would have fallen apart. The room is basic, ULTRA basic. Had no hot water the first morning as it was turned off, next morning no problem. The breakfast is very basic, not good at all. You do get some bread ham and cheese, but they put out such a small plate of the ham and cheese and it is NOT frequently replenished. No real coffee, only a jar of instant, and no real fruit juice, only a drink blend. We confirmed reservation via hotels.com, it stated with breakfast, but they said no it did not and wanted to charge us extra for it. The man on duty (owner maybe?) finally agreed to let it go. When I went to pay, everything said they accepted credit cards and I swear I saw the credit card machine on the desk, but he denied it saying "only cash." I would not stay here again. The only reason we selected it in the first place was because of the parking, and for that indeed it did work out well. However, I'm confident there are better places in Split, try another one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob from Adelaide, South Australia

Hidden value - highly recommended

Posted Sep 28, 2010
We stayed at Villa Marjela for 3 nights in May 2010. It is a small hotel in the suburbs between the Hayduk Stadium and the old town - which is a pleasant 10 min walk away. The rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable even though furnishings are slightly spartan. The breakfast was continental style - meats, cheese, boiled egg and bread - but all nice and fresh - and plenty of it. The hotel has really friendly & helpful staff . They provided directions etc and also pointed out good local restaurants away from the tourist areas that were mainly frequented by locals. (We loved the seafood restaurant on the marina - a very pleasant 5 - 10 mins walk from the hotel - where you can watch the "catch of the day" and "daily specials" being delivered at the quay side) It can be difficult to find the first time - particularly if arriving by car - so email when booking and get directions. Even the sat nav only took us within 200m and we could not see it. But the friendly locals pointed it out to us - without laughing!! The hotel is set amongst the old communist style apartment towers so the neighborhood does not look all that flash - however, everyone we met in the area were welcoming, friendly and helpful even at the local shop. The hotel can be hard to find if arriving by car - so email for clear directions - even the sat nav only got us within 200 metres and we had to ask locals where it was hidden. A great place to stay in Split, very good value & we would stay there again!
1 out of 5
by Anonymous

Villa Marjela In the Worst Part of Split

Posted Jun 29, 2010 on Orbitz
Could not find the hotel, but was told by a hotel owner in the area that it was in the worst part of town and that he had never heard of it. They had to look it up on Google Maps and still we couldn't find it. I want a complete refund and suggest you take this hotel off your offered list of hotels in Split.