Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Brian

Our stay in Hotel AS Split.

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
When we originally booked the trip, the map showed the hotel as 0.7 miles from the railway station. It was actually 3.2 miles! When we booked in we were given a room which was occupied! Then we were given a room in which the previous occupant smoked! We booked a non smoking room and expected to get one! As we were tired and wanted to settle down for the night, we decided to open all windows to see if we could air out the room. Fortunately it worked, so we decided to keep the room. So it wasn't the best start, but we made the most of our stay. The staff was friendly and the breakfast buffet was nice, but could have done with more healthier options.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic, but do the job quite well

Posted Jul 25, 2017 on Hotels
Good breakfast buffet with some choice.
5 out of 5
by venir

Hotel As , is the choice when you are in Split

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was very easy to find. Getting in and out of the ferry and bus station from the hotel is very easy, around 10 mins drive. The manager and staff are fluent in English and very helpful when we asked for help in arranging tours for us. The room is clean and they have a restaurant in the lobby. We will definitely come back and I highly recommend the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, UK

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The staff were pleasant and helpful and breakfast good.
Cons: Wifi was a bit erratic but tolerable and could be improved.
Location: The hotel is about 20min walk into the centre of Split which is a very lively place with lots to see and experience. A very historical place and very.
The hotel is nice and comfortable about 20 min walk into the city centre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Tajana, Hotel Management
Thank you and best regards...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not very convenient

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is far from the main railway station. the website says 1 km but it is much more. very misleading. Need to take a bus to the city. nothing is within walking distance.
4 out of 5
by Stephen from Adelaide

The Industrial Life

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was about 30 minutes walk from the main area of Split. It was situated in an industrial area. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room was ok. The bathroom was modern and had a full sized shower. The in room safe was small and there was no tea and coffee facilities. A bus service was close by and there was also a shopping complex nearby.
3 out of 5
by David

Remote location in unattractive neghborehood

Posted Aug 11, 2012 on Hotels
The Hotel AS was better than expected despite its location and unimpressive building, etc. Services, staff and breakfast buffet were all matched the price. The shower head holder was broken, TV had adequate English channels. About 10 min. walk to/from the bus stop felt way longer under the intense summer sun in the tree-less neighborhood. Take #90 bus to/from the center. Don't take a taxi in Croatia unless you know what you are doing or speak their language. The Hotel AS was worthwhile for what I paid.
3 out of 5
by BristolPhil

OK if you hve a fire car or like a 30 minute walk

Posted Jul 18, 2012 on Hotels
Hotel was pretty average and room one of the smallest I have stayed in. The most unimpressive thing though was the location: it seems to be situated in a industrial park opposite a factory making metal railings. The 25 minute walk into the tourist centre is interesting but not particularly pleasant because of the high levels of pollution in the hot weather.
1 out of 5
by Lyn from Cheshire, uk

Location poor, no hot water.

Posted Jul 8, 2012
Pros: Staff were friendly
Cons: No hot water & location miles out
Location: Poor not as described, no where near the centre.
Hotel described as being near the city centre, but only if you get a taxi which is around £10 each way, it's in the middle of a shipping yard industrial estate which is not the quietest of areas, we had no hot water for our 1st day and night and also found a cockroach in the room, we complained to the manager and Expedia who then refunded us and we moved to a different hotel, if you are visiting split to see the sights do not use this hotel as it will cost you more in taxi fees, we moved to a lovely family run hotel in the city centre which was perfect.