Ratings based on 1,619 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Best hotel in downtown Spokane!

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Everything- historic, incredibly well done, great location
Cons: They've gotten most everything right - maybe could add small workout room
Location: Restaurants, entertainment, Riverfront Pak
The Montvale is the best hotel I have ever stayed in, in downtown Spokane. For the price, it absolutely puts the Davenport properties to shame. The staff are terrific and the room I had, a king, was beautifully done with terrific, comfortable furniture. The common areas have been magnificently restored, there is a lovely fireplace. Good coffee and bath products as well! Within walking distance to everything downtown. Can't say enough good things!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from irvine

Nice location, beautifully redone rooms

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: The rooms and the size of the common areas
Cons: Staff present at desk and parking
Location: Great down town area, lots of construction, restaurant next door but I would avoid, charming ambiance but food was not good.
This boutique hotel was a wonderful alternative to a chain hotel, the history and character shined through. My only issue was upon check in there was no one at the front desk at around 7:30 pm so I had to call. Then the parking was strange I had to drive around and bring my luggage through an unmarked door because it was raining and ended up going through a restaurant and then again the next morning had to walk around the block in the rain to get to my car.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will stay again

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Clean room, friendly staff. This was my second time staying here and will definitely come back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, Great price.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Only reason we gave it a 4/5 is the squeaky floor boards. We were on the second floor and the room above us was walking around all night. Ours squeaked as well. Other than that we had a great stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
I stayed on the 3rd floor of this historic hotel when I was in Spokane for a friend's wedding. I heard from friends who stayed on the 2nd floor that they felt the walls were thin, but I didn't have any issues. The bed was comfy and I loved all the natural light that came through the tall windows. I was on the side closest to the train tracks, but didn't find that it was very loud. More light a dull rumbling at max. While the hotel itself didn't have a continental breakfast available, their sister property hosted it just 1 block up. I took advantage of the 24-hr coffee and tea bar set up on the 2nd floor. The staff was very helpful and friendly. It was also convenient that the hotel was walking distance to pretty much everything. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Good location and large room but would prefer breakfast to be served in the hotel, not down the street (which was under construction).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice historic hotel in downtown Spokane

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Stepping into the hotel was like stepping back in time. It was a serene and quaint setting that was a pleasure to experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Clea, location and staff
Cons: they need to fix the floor boards so they don't squeak.
Location: Breat downtown location.
I like the hotel but there is a lot of construction going on outside so it's not the hotels fault. They have done a gr\teat job of renovating it tastefully and the staff is very pleasant. However, I will not be staying there again as I could not sleep well. The guest above me was walking around half the night and the floor was creaking and kept me awake.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from British Columbia, Canada

Great location, clean, quick check in.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: We picked this hotel for it's charm and history. Loved that the décor resembled it's age.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Walking distance to the mall, riverside park and the area. All three of the reasons we stayed here.
Loved the charm of this hotel. Fast, friendly service at check in. Perfect location for attending a concert at the arena, within walking distance to that, the mall and the park. Clean and well kept. Bed was perfect. Even though the train went right past our room, neither of us heard it through the night. We walked back from the arena after the concert at 11pm and didn't feel uncomfortable at all.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Hotel.

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Great location. Walking distance to everything. Staff was amazing. Very friendly and helpful. The only thing I would change is paid parking. It should be included. Overall fantastic. Thanks😁