Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York City

Charming

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: Staff was great
Cons: They are currently renovating for the 2018 season. Any little things I assume will be addressed.
Location: Location is great. Wide expanse of great beach beyond the boardwalk. Excellent Restaurant, Bareli's on premises. Asbury Park 15 mins away.
Spent a charming night, we woke up with the Ocean out my front wndow on New Years Day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2018
We had a New Year's Eve stay that was wonderfully comfortable. We likely stay there this coming summer, as well.
5 out of 5
by Richard L.

Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Hotels
awesome
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ct.

great proximatey to beach and railroad

Posted Oct 28, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: It is what it is. Small rooms, lots of stairs, intrusion of the roof line into the ceilings of some of the spaces, but structural changes impractical
Location: Surfboarding was quite popular. Sunbathing, swimming, fishing etc. Nice shops and restaurants nearby. A great place to just kick back.
Stayed here once before under a previous management. My room was small but clean, spartan but with all the necessities. I didn't have unrealistic expectations - after all it is an old Victorian with charm of its' own. With an open window the sound of the breakers was very soothing at bedtime. Creaky floor boards cause concern that it might be annoying to anyone located below. Jogging in place was clearly not an option but there is a great boardwalk across the street at the top edge of the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Staff very frienly and accomadating especially the women when u check in and out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toms River, NJ

Directly across the street from the ocean.

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: The location is across the street from the ocean.
Cons: Improve bathrooms. Only on street parking which can be a nightmare in season.
Location: Across the street from the ocean.
Directly across the street from the ocean. Although the room was impeccably clean, the bathroom was in need of aesthetic improvements. The restaurant was perfect. The wait staff were professionals and the food was wonderful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Perhaps too much charm?

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Location to the boardwalk and beach can't be beat.
The location is great, but they seem to invest a lot more energy into the first floor restaurant than into the hoteling. Our bed sagged and the bed creaked. They forgot to replenish the soap. Adjusting the shower took experimental design. Sunday morning the coffee selection for the Keurig was all flavored coffees. And be advised, the stairs to most of the rooms are long and steep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

close to beach

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
room was very small & bathroom was tiny very noisy at night