Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Livonia, MI

nice hotel, but terrible view

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: excellent breakfast nice pools grounds well kept clean rooms
Cons: larger beds view from balcony was terrible
Location: a number of nice shops and restaurants in Grand Haven; Historic Museum downtown was fantastic; many bakeries; nice beach and state park
Room was nice, and we were on the "water side", unfortunately the large building 20 feet from our balcony was unappealing and really made the balcony unusable. The pools were nice and breakfast at the restaurant was excellent. Beds were comfortable, but would have preferred queen beds.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Troy, MI

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Nice hotel but there was a couple things my boyfriend and I didn't like so much. We don't like that it's such a late check in. The person at the front desk took a while to find my reservation. The indoor pool floor looked disgusting and there wasn't enough seating. The housekeeping started vacuuming at 8 in the morning which made us very annoyed! I myself probably wouldn't stay here again for those reasons.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close to beach and downtown!

Posted Aug 25, 2015
We stayed here to enjoy the beach and downtown Grand Haven. It was a quick drive or about a $5.00 taxi ride into town. Very nice hotel with beautiful views of the marina.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Annual Summer Trip

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Pros: Great walk on the river front in the morning and evening... Fun to check out the boats moored at the dockside also.
Location: Close to downtown and easy to get to.
We have stayed in this hotel before. It has always been a pleasant stay. The staff was very friendly and the rooms are nice. If you get a river view room it is beautiful. The only reason I lowered the cleanliness to an "ok" is because with the lamp on at night, in the corner by the balcony, many small flying bugs were present.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton, Mi

Nice hotel but at a very expensive price.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Restaurant, pool.
Cons: Ask about the view if you are paying a lot of money.
I paid a lot of money for a room that overlooked a parking lot and overpass. Next time I will ask more questions about the view.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Hotel staff messed up my reservation - twice

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Outdoor pool area
Cons: Very slow drain in the bathroom.
I had a reservation for two rooms for three nights and had changed our arrival date by one night. Expedial made the change and told me they had confirmed it with the Holiday Inn. Unfortunately, the hotel staff changed one of the rooms, but did not change the arrival date for the second room. Therefore, the second room appeared as a "no show" because we did not arrive on the orginal check-in date and the entire reservation was cancelled. When we arrived to check in on the new date, the staff said they only had one room available and did not show any reservation for a second room. Therefore, half of our party had to go find another hotel room for the evening because they were completely booked. When we finally got the reservation fixed for the second night, we checked in to a room with only one bed, when we had requested two. In addition, I was given a hand written note by the hotel staff that was addressed to another guest. A total mess and annoying experience.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Mi

Nice place stay in Grand Haven

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: AC was little noisy
Location: Went to downtown, waterfront and beach
It was comfortable stay. Restaurant was excellent.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Jacqueline from Warren, MI

Will check out rates at the sam next trip to area.

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
Nice central location to check out Grand Haven, Spring Well areas by bike or stroll.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice location

Posted Jun 9, 2015
It is an older Holiday Inn hotel and needs a little work however, the rooms are clean and the location is great. The only thing I would add is that they need to be more flexible with their check in time. We were from out of state and did not know the area and arrived around 2PM and tried to check in. The agent at the counter told us that we could not check in until 4PM with no additional explanation or offer to check us check in an hour earlier. I could understand this if they were really busy but there was hardly anyone there; we ended up driving around for 2hrs and checked in at 4PM.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by Robert J from Rolling Meadows, IL

bob's review

Posted May 30, 2015 on Hotels
We only stayed one night. Everything was good. The staff is very friendly.