Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greater NY Area

Emergency Honeymoon Get Away

Posted Jan 4, 2018
My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. It was peaceful, fun and a very welcoming experience. The restaurant was also top notch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Nice and quiet in the off season. Convenient location to downtown and beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

How Unfortunate!

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Great location. Pleasant staff. Pretty area.
Cons: In general, run-down, worn facility. In need of renovation.
How unfortunate. An incredible location. An impressive looking building....from the outside. One can see attempts to renovate or upgrade inside.....however, somewhere along the way the work stopped. There is such potential for this building. What happened? The rooms look worn. How many times can you repaint the woodwork? (maybe that's called "old world charm") If the moulding is chipped or gouged to show bare wood, should it not be repaired?( I guess that's what is meant by "quaint"). The bathroom renovation, if that's what it can be called, looks like it was done by a weekend amateur, at best (as do all of the so called "renovations"). The light switches were from the 1970's or earlier. The room shades had holes and safety pins in them. Everything looked worn and hastily completed. The staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant (maybe could have looked a little bit more professional). The place seemed clean or as much as any housekeeping staff could accomplish on such a worn facility. The morning breakfast, understanding that the facility has no kitchen, was ok. Would have been nice to have at least metal utensils instead of everything being made of plastic. We stayed overnight recently in room 14. The view at sunrise was spectacular. The outdoor porch was very nice. Calm and serene setting, but inside..... Admittedly, the pictures on line, look great. Maybe it was just our room, but I suspect not. The HW is in dire need of some TLC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yardley, pa

Close to beach, lake, restaurant, Catholic Church.

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Has a great restaurant (whispers) on premise. Lobster special is great. (45). Expect to spend 130 to 150. Byob. Come back on special occasion. Walking distance to town, beach and lake. Always have a nice and peaceful time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2017
Pros: Elegant, quiet, comfortable, location
Cons: Breakfast
Wonderful, charming hotel. Beautiful, sunny room. Very comfortable. Superb location, friendly staff. A real treat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading, Pa

Awesome!

Posted Oct 14, 2017
I did a last minute decision to go to Spring Lake New Jersey. I had never been there before. The beach town is just lovely and will most certainly go again AND I will only stay at the Hewitt Wellington. What an awesome hotel! Loved everything about it. I highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and perfect location~~

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: The charm... the history.. the location...
Cons: As I mentioned the porch was not the greatest. When I checked out the lady was on the phone so never got to talk to her.
Location: Good location.. great for taking beautiful walks or to walk into town. The beach is close by.. it is on the lake and the boardwalk is a fabulous walk.
Loved the location.... the room was nice... the porch which looked at the pool was not a great room.. looked cheap and needed some update. I never sat out there.It was attached to my room by another door. The breakfast was very good. Really nice place though and I would recommend and stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to beach but...

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Breakfast included means only limited continental Room was over diningroom, noisy Bed was hard Train and church bell was annoying Nice porch Nice view Good location to beach
5 out of 5
by David

A Great Place!

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
This is a great place in every way. I'd give it SIX stars if such a rating were possible. My one suggestion is that, for environmental purposes, they stop using plastic plates for the breakfast buffet.