Ratings based on 645 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Stay next door to President Lincoln's tomb!

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Pros: This location offers a hotel-style amenities with the benefit of an important historic Lincoln site within walking distance of your room.
Cons: Deeper cleaning and best maintenance of the rooms.
Location: Lincoln.
We didn't intend to stay in Springfield, but when it turned out that we could stay in a Howard Johnson's close to Lincoln's tomb, we had to do it, and made a little extra time in the morning before pushing on to do it. I am a bit nostalgic and Howard Johnson's is a classic motel brand. The facilities are maintained, but infrequently updated, usually in a good way, and although the locations aren't always very nice, they are clean, safe, and comfortable enough for a good night's rest.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Past its prime.

Posted Apr 21, 2018
Pros: Conveniently located. Easy to get to.
Cons: Maintain the facility. See description for what needs to be repaired or replaced.
The door needs new weather stripping to prevent cold air from blowing in the room. The heater had no deflectors so the air blasts straight to the beds. The heater couldn’t regulate itself so we had to manually turn it on and when the room was warm enough, turn it off... throughout the night. That’s not a good night sleep if you have to keep getting up for the heater. Water trickled out of the shower head instead of a full spray. Microwave sounded like it was grinding rocks when we heated dinner. The fridge wouldn’t close all the way. Overall disappointed with this stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2018
The rooms were not up to date and not as clean as it should be. The lounge was very nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

On Route 66

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Pros: Large rooms. Lots of parking. Quiet.
Cons: Fix the peeling paint.
Given the choices off the beaten path, this location served its purpose. The price was right. The breakfast was minimal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Good for an emergency landing.

Posted Mar 21, 2018
sheet had stains, some of which were VERY visible. breakfast was nothing special. the staff was helpful and nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont Stay Here

Posted Mar 17, 2018
This hotel does not have hot water. Their internet service is very very slow and most times not usable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2018
Totally gross. I literally was afraid to stay there. Dirty, trashy, smelled, and people fighting in room next door.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Bad and good

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Pros: location
Cons: cleanliness
Location: Fairgrounds and airport
This hotel has bad and redone rooms. Don't settle for the shabby, dirty rooms. They have rooms that are redone. The first room they gave us was dirty, needed paint and had ants in the bathroom. The desk called maintenance (who was a nice guy) and he said we needed a different room because he'd have to spray for that many ants. The second room was MUCH better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from spingfield, illinois

OMG

Posted Feb 11, 2018
The door frame wiggling when I opened it, stains on the ceiling, a pinched in bathroom door, ants ( dead and alive), and walls falling apart start my list of issues.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2018 on Hotels
Filthy room no coffee or cups dirty handprint on the walls some of the lights didn't work and there price was higher than the website reservation said