Ratings based on 582 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Gabriel, CA

Neat & Nifty Place Near HISTORY

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: It was close to historic places & the STAFF were NICE & HELPFUL.
Cons: Nothing. IT WAS ALL GOOD.
Location: There are lots of places to visit. My main goal was to VISIT and PAY MY RESPECTS to my FAVORITE PRESIDENT at the OAK RIDGE CEMETERY. Its FREE.
After my LONG drive of 14 hours & 24 minutes, and over 700 miles from Surfside Beach, SC to historic Springfield, IL., it was nice to arrive at my destination, HOWARD JOHNSONS INN SPRINGFIELD. Mathew at the front desk was very NICE & PROFESSIONAL. He was very IMFORMATIVE about the area & its historic sites. Since I was only passing through to hit the road in the morning to return to San Gabriel, CA., my main goal was to visit the LINCOLN MEMORIAL & RESTING PLACE of our late president, which I was able to do the next morning. The room was SPACIOUS & CLEAN and the bed was COMFORTABLE. I had a nice restful sleep. The CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST was decent and had lots to offer. If I ever return to Springfield, IL for a longer visit, I would RETURN to HJI. Thank you for a NICE stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Ok hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
This hotel is not a disability friendly place. In order to get to the breakfast you have to climb about 6 or more steps no way for a disabled person to go up there. No elevator or ramp. I asked the person that was there, she said that they would bring food down to the person, WHY. Would you want to to eat breakfast alone in the lobby? The counter top was dirty where the the food was. As far as the room it was on there was a burnt out light bulb in the bathroom. The bath tub is chipped. Maybe it was me but the lock on the door I did not feel safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet area

Posted Mar 8, 2017
It is a nice hotel. Parking in front of room. Is in a more remote area of Springfield so a bit of a drive for something to eat in the evening. Easy to get to downtown Springfield.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from springfield

Livid want refund

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Woke up w bed bug bites all over the rooms were dirty and it was overall terrible tried to tell receptionist and she was rude
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jan 30, 2017
is good.....l like for next visit and all famili in the futuro when caming to the city
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In and out

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The room was extremely cold upon arrival and it took a while for the room to warm up which was very uncomfirtable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For the price and a brief stay, it is good

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Cheap, clearn
I was here for a one night stay. It was a very cold night. The room was warm, the shower worked fine and water was warm. The TV had plenty of options to choose from. Room was clean, of course the fixtures and everything are old, but not particularly dirty. If you're looking for a place to crash that is safe and relatively easy to get in and out of, I would recommend this place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Temperatures were very cold outside and the heat had not been turned on when we arrived, even though we had a reservation. No business services. I needed about 50 copies and was told Office Max was a few miles away.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very unhappy

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
Please do not stay in this hotel. For one, the front desk clerk didn't know how to use the reservation software and charged our account twice. The lobby and breakfast area was nice but the rooms were outdated and worn. The door to our room look like it had been kicked in several times because the jamb and latch were very loose, cracked and there were dents on the outside of the door. We also didn't feel well while staying in the room. We had headaches nausea and dizziness. When we left the room we felt better. We believe there may have been some carbon monoxide poisoning. The hotel is located in a very old and run down part of Springfield. It also was not very safe.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

worst hotel ever

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
hated the stay