Ratings based on 548 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo

Very poor experience

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Sleepy town, especially at night.
Hotel staff very unhelpful in resolving problems. Put on long hold by staff taking reservations.Hotel management did not resolve booking problem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Urbana, IL

Comfortable hotel close to attractions

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Pros: The staff, the breakfast, the location, the rooms and amenities
Cons: The temperature controls in the room were a little off - nothing major but it did get a little too hot or cold sometimes.
Location: Close walk to the Lincoln Museum and Library, Lincoln's house, the Old Capitol. Also close to other historic houses and museums.
We had a lovely stay at the State House Inn. The staff was super friendly and helpful, especially the staff at breakfast. The woman working at breakfast all three mornings we were there could not have been nicer - she helped all the guests with everything they needed, and she cleared the tables efficiently. The rooms were clean and tidy, and the bathroom was clean and organized as well. Some extra nice touches included the make-your-own waffle stations at breakfast and the bathrobes for the guests that were hanging in the bathrooms. The hotel was also in close walking distance to many of the attractions in Springfield, which was very convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

extended get away

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: groupon
Cons: Yes the lounge, furniture was very dirty, ripped and stained. If you adverstise HBO they you should have it
Location: Lincoln Museum was great ..
Pleased over all, but the Lounge, really should be closed down, if this is the way the furniture looks. Dirty, and I am sure very germy. My husband and I were going to watch a movie on HBO, as the hotel adverstised hbo. There was no HBO and no one at the hotel could tell us why, just that it is out of service right now.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great downtown location.

Posted Mar 6, 2016
Very friendly staff; comfortable rooms, hot breakfast!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KC Mo

Nice hotel with extra friendly staff.

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Not our style of decor but hotel was very clean and staff was friendly and helpful. Only one problem. ..the bottom, fitted sheet would not stay on the mattress due to the design of the bed frame. Uncomfortable and annoying! Nothing to do about it unless the design of the bed is changed. Would not come back unless that happens.
4 out of 5
by kyesha m

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Tiffany

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
Room was really nice. The air was different. Turned the heat down and the air conditioning turned on. Breakfast was so so.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Close to important location in Springfield

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Attended a conference. Tvs were out of order in room and workout room. Nice breakfast - friendly lady there!
4 out of 5
by Susan L from Quincy, Il

Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Hotels
Nice place to stay for a brief visit. Very small room. Great staff!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Capitol

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Breakfast was OK, room was never vacuumed. I would not stay here again