Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from t

Hampton sold

Posted Jun 28, 2017
The hotel is a little dated and recently changed hands, so we had a hard time finding it without seeing the name on the outside of the building
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Location: Good location close to the interstate and easy to get to.
Had difficulty finding the hotel as it still had the Hampton Inn sign and not the new Wingate sign. Rooms were adequate but definitely dated. Sunday morning breakfast disappointing because they were out of a lot of their items.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2017
This location changed from a Hampton Inn to a Wingate Hotel the first night we stayed. The hotel staff notified us during check-in that this change would occur. Hotel operations were not affected, and the staff was very helpful throughout our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Clean room, nice staff

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Staff, pool
Cons: My picky son wished there were biscuits available on the breakfast buffet. Otherwise, buffet had plenty of options.
Location: Close to many things including our family, Cozy Dog (family said was birthplace of corn dogs?) on historic Route 66, Lincoln home, museum and library.
My kids enjoyed the pool. Short driving distance to landmarks, restaurants, movie theater, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from . B

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Friendly staff. Good variety for Breakfast Bathroom was not cleaned very well
4 out of 5
by Dave

area on the decline

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
I have been staying at this location for about 10 years now, Visiting the area 8 to 10 times a year for a weekend. Over the years the area that it is located in has had a decline. Stores of been closing, restaurants are continuously closing and rebranding and the amounts of panhandlers has increased. This last stay, last week, just outside of the hotel I was approached by four different persons during the five day stay asking for money. This tactic has been used for a long time to make people feel guilty and uncomfortable, so they'll receive money. The hotel did nothing about removing the persons from the property. This wouldn't be a problem if I did not have my family with me. When my son starts to feel uncomfortable I question as to why I am staying at that location now. Within the walls of the hotel, the staff is phenomenal, the facilities are clean and reliable. The beds are dated, which can be obvious by the comfort of the mattress. The location is convenient. It is a half a mile off of the interstate and has access to all points within the city with a reasonable 15 minute drive maximum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Crystal Lake, IL

Smaller than expected but not too bad

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Staff, pool, location
We stayed for two nights in a room on the second floor - the room itself was VERY small (two doubles seemed crammed in) and the television did not work (we did alert front desk and someone came up but left a card that said they ATTEMPTED to fix the problem - they didn't and never followed up). The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The kids liked the pool a lot - good size for the size of the hotel and the water was warm and comfortable. Location was near many restaurants and not at all far from all of Springfield's tourist sites. Overall, we were happy with the accommodations and the price, but be aware that the "suites" in the hotel name is a misnomer.
5 out of 5
by Marshal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
I was a bit surprised by the condition of this particular Hampton Inn. I've stayed at many others and always felt pretty satisfied, but this property is kind of rough around the edges. It needs needs some updating, general maintenance and probably a good deep cleaning. The location, on the other hand, is quite convenient if you're just passing thru town or checking out the local Lincoln Sites. The indoor pool was a hit with my children.
5 out of 5
by Doug

Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed there on my way back from Hannibal MO. Don't know why the negative comments. Our beds were soft and cozy, the room was clean and everything was updated. Didn't make it to breakfast, I choose instead to sleep in and take advantage of the 12:00 check-out. Didn't use the pool. My son and I aren't pool people, we prefer fresh water lakes and it was definitely too cold for that.