Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dhahran, Saudi Arabia

Perfectly snugged between a lagoon and the ocean.

Posted Jan 26, 2017
The perfect place to rejuvenate your soul and body.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Aditya from Bangalore

Great hotel for relaxation

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
Great service! The hotel staff are very attentive and our kids enjoyed the pool. The receptionist Udeshi went out of her way to ensure that our little one was okay. The sea was unfortunately too rough to swim in. Food variety and quality could be better/authentic at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very good holiday hotel - exactly as stated

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Quiet (at end of September - and except for drummers [as below]), well-staffed, clean and comfortable. Barely a child to be seen (or heard) - whoopee
Cons: The drummers who "performed" one evening and were gone by 22.00 - the two best things about them. Why not Sitar, Tabla and other Asian music?
Location: Not a lot in Kalutara. Rail station is close for cheap, frequent services to Galle, Colombo, etc. Get away in local taxi - all-day hire.
Very good. Staff were helpful and informative and always polite. I really can't understand some of the other reviews which seem to be picky comments about trivial issues made for the sake of whinging! The hotel was spotless and delivered exactly what was described. What more do you want? Complaints about bar prices seem out of place. The buffet (there is also a la carte) provided an excellent meal in three or more courses, was plentiful and varied. At Rs 2,600 you would, in the UK, be lucky to get 2 pints of warm beer and a bag of fish and chips! The gardens are well maintained and patrolled unobtrusively and, if you wander from the pool to watch the fishermen in the lagoon, you should see kingfishers, chipmunk-like squirrels and the occasional snake and iguana amongst the palm trees. Warning: the hotel-arranged taxi transfer was more than a little expensive. Cost me US$85 arriving and Rs5,000 (privately arranged local taxi) departing - almost 3-times cheaper. Don't go in the monsoon season if you want to swim in the sea - the waves and undertow will have you in East Africa before you're missed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: How friendly every one was to us and how helpfully they are I love this place :)
All I can say the staff the hotel the view was a mazing, I really felt welcome when we arrived I will for sure be back with new friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good hotel near to the beach and bay

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness Comfort Food Hotel staff
Cons: Rooms having interconnected door facility to open to the other room, should be sound proof through the interconnected door.
Location: Nice quiet location
Hotel is away from the busy towns and in a very quiet natural environment not far away from Colombo. Close to the beach surrounded by coconut palms with well maintained gardens. Birds and squirrels are to be seen in the area and very soothing to the eye. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is excellent with lot of varieties in Sri Lankan and Western style. Definitely would like to go back there and recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel with nive room's view

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: it's facilities
I liked this hotel ,, every thing in it is good. you can spend your day on it
4 out of 5
by Linda from Kuwait

Lovely peaceful setting

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely location and hotel? A few minor changes would make it easier for someone with difficulty walking. (room rug needs to be taped down so it isn't curled up an poses a tripping hazard - breakfast needs to be served downstairs or a lift put in - shower needs to have anti-slip strips installed) very friendly staff. $90 "required" Christmas Eve dinner +wine costs made us cut out stay there short so we would not have to attend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Great facilities

Posted Dec 27, 2014
This is a wonderful place that is hiddeN away. IF you like being in a secluded place and lover massages, being lazy and meeting people from all over the world; this is it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Nice hotel, but too commercial...

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Avani room was lovely including the sea view. The location of the hotel is good too - the building works mentioned in the Expedia write up didn't affect our stay in the slightest. The staff too were very helpful apart from being a bit slow to check us in and out. The hotel is very geared towards western tourists and families in particular. If your thing is to chill out by a pool whilst the kids occupy themselves, this is the one for you. For this though, you pay a premium, not Sri Lanka prices. Drinks and food are quite expensive. The resort is well guarded by security, but local traders are constantly trying to get business from the fencing surrounding the resort. Same is true if you venture on to the beach too. All in all, a nice enough stay, but we generally prefer something a little quieter and more authentic.