Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Ripped off by the staff, if your White be careful!

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: The views from the hotel.
Cons: The managers and lobby hotel staff are horrible. They should be better screened and retrained. We were swindled by the staff and managers for money!
Location: The hotel itself is beautiful, but it is located high up on the mountain with nothing to do nearby and expensive to get transportation to and from.
We paid and booked online at full price for a two person per room occupancy as clearly stated in the room terms and conditions. However, I was the only person listed on the online paper work with contact details since I booked through my personal account. My sister and I arrived at the hotel in the morning and everything went smoothly upon checkin, the room we booked was for two twin beds. Later in the evening we were approached in the lobby by a mob of staff demanding us to pay them double the original booking rate all in USD cash per night for my sister to share the room with me plus extra for her to have breakfast, and we had booked for 3 nights! The amount they were demanding far exceeded the nightly rate for a whole new room. I refused and showed them their own terms and conditions that they state online for a 2 people occupancy per room. They would not stop harassing us for payment and said that they don't care what their policy says since I was the only one showing on the paper work despite the fact that at checkin both of us were asked for our passports and contact details. I refused to pay that amount and asked to speak to a manager. Two managers came and were trying to negotiate all kinds of ridiculous fees, but I refused to pay. They then proceeded to say that the hotel would do me the "courtesy" of allowing us to actually use the other twin bed in the room for free as long as we pay USD per day for one extra breakfast. I agreed and paid them. Horrible experience!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from binghamton, NY

its a comfortable hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: views and the hotel staff
Cons: condition of the hotel
Location: you can visit the historical city of kandy, temple of the tooth, peradeniya botanical gardens etc
the view was amazing. The hotel could do some renovation. Bath rooms were ok, room was ok, but the view of the surrounding hill tops were amazing. I would go there again for the breathtaking views. The buffet was good, had lots of choices and was delicious as well. its worth the price. Also the hotel staff is friendly and courteous .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Japan

ちょっと古いけどバルコニーからの景色は最高

Posted May 6, 2016
山道をかなりくねくねしてからホテルに到着。夜着いたのでエントランスはムーディーなよい雰囲気でした。バスルームはやや狭めで、明るくなってからみると、建物は古い感じでした。ブレックファーストメニューはよくあるブュッフェスタイルで、ポテトカレーやエッグカレーがおいしかったです。なぜかヨーグルトは乳臭く激マズでしたが。夜景を見ながらの晩酌やフレッシュな緑を見ながらの朝食は最高でした!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by web ex, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your most kind review on Amaya Hills. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience caused. We look forward to your next stay with us Thanks & Regards Amaya Resorts & Spa
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NSW

Staff indifference spoils stay

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Situated high in hills with nice view.
Cons: Inform staff that guests are important and should be dealt with as a priority and in the order of arrival.
Location: Nothing to do near by. You will need own transport, tuk-tuk or taxi for any activities other than at hotel.
Registration staff could not find our booking, but showed no empathy. He was trying to deal with other guests after commencing our check-in process, answering the phone, fiddling. Eventually found our booking but still failed to show any need to process our check-in. Hotel is a long way from Kandy and we could not see any alternate dining options close by. I would recommend finding a hotel much closer to Kandy itself.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by web ex, Hotel Management
Dear guest Thank you for your candid review on Amaya Hills. We are glad to know you enjoyed the views. We apologize as the food was not up to the standards but we assure you this will be looked into. Thanks & Regards Amaya Resorts & Spa
5 out of 5
by Suranga from Sri Lanka

Great place to relax

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
It was so relaxing...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Web EX, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Amaya Hills. We are simply thrilled to hear such amazing reviews on the property We hope your next stay with us is just around the corner Thanks & Regards Amaya Resorts & Spa
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great wifi!

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
See above
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Web EX, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Amaya Hills We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay Thanks & Regards Amaya Resorts & Spa
4 out of 5
by George

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Web EX, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Amaya Hills We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay Thanks & Regards Amaya Resorts & Spa
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good view and that's about it.

Posted Mar 12, 2016
The only thing that is exciting about this hotel is the view from your room. Anyone booking this hotel, should consider the fact that they charge an extra 40 dollars if you want the view of the mountains. I was willing to pay that amount. The hotel is up on the hill so the ride in the night can be actually a bit scary. If you are a young couple I will recommend a hotel in the town. After we checked in, the toilet was leaking. We had to change rooms. Our ordeal at the hotel didn't end there. If you want to eat at the restaurants, they have specific timings for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If you miss the time, you have to order room service which closes at midnight. The other incident that happened was the cover of the light in the toilet came down crashing on the floor while showering. The bathrooms are small, the rooms are small. The hotel seems old and definitely not a palace in the hills as they advertise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2016 by web ex, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Amaya Hills We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused We assure you these are not the services we offer here at Amaya. All negative comments will be looked into and rectified promptly Thanks & Regards Amaya Resorts & Spa
4 out of 5
by John C from Toronto Canada

Fantastic view

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous views! Hotel was great, the room was also fine, and we had a balcony over looking the mountains and pool, but the bathroom was very small. The hotel had a great pool and spa, live music at night, great verandah to sit and sip a cocktail, had a restaurant with both buffet and a la carte. The morning breakfast was large with many choices. The staff were very helpful but not many of them could speak English.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by Web EX, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your most kind review on Amaya Hills. We are truly thrilled to hear such amazing comments regarding the property. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the views ,rooms and most importantly for praising our dedicated staff. We hope your next stay with us is just around the corner. Thanks & regards Amaya Resorts & Spa
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vackert beläget hotell

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Tyvärr var det bara buffet vid alla måltider och dessa var ingen höjdare. Synd för hotellet låg fantastiskt vackert och rummet var rent och trevligt möblerat, vi hade dessutom en balkong med utsikt över dalen. Hotellet behöver fräschas upp, speciellt badrummen.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by web ex, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your most kind review on Amaya Hills. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the inconvenience caused. We look forward to your next stay with us Thanks & Regards Amaya Resorts & Spa