Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pleasant stay. Warning: If you take the little complimentary shampoo (glass) bottles they will chase you down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from colombo

Living under trees

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Cons: Took their time handling the baggage. Nothing lost or damaged though.
Cool place with trees everywhere over you. Lake shore is a nice place to spend the morning and evenings. Enough things to do within the premises for two days. Had a cool breeze throughout the day even when outside the premises it was hot in the noon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Rip off merchants.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Cons: Honesty.
We paid the full amount and booked two rooms. The total amount $524 was taken from my credit card by Expedia. We stayed at the resort on 3rd Jan 206 and checked out the following day. The Hotel charged our credit card $674 as the room charges, without telling us. Following day when we realised of this fraud we contacted Amaya. They agreed to refund the money. We kept contactig the hotel and kept reminding about the refund. They kept saying yes. Now it is nearly seven months and the Hotel has not refunded the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kandy

Individual chalets close to Kandalama Lake

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: The way it is laid out - with individual chalets spread across a large forest-like garden which stretches down to the Kandalama lake.
Cons: The Signature restaurant is very popular for dinner and is understaffed at that time - with resulting chaos.
Location: Close to Dambulla rock temple, Sigiriya rock fortress. Two hours to the ancient ruined city of Polonnaruwa, driving by Minneriya natural reserve.
Overall, a pleasant stay. Enjoyed the location, food and pool. Hotel rooms comfortable and clean. Breakfast buffet has a wide selection and good quality. Food and service at Signature restaurant excellent at lunch, but they are unable to cope with the numbers at dinner time. Used the hotel as base to visit Sigiriya rock fortress and Polonnaruwa ruined city which is 2 hours away - driving by the Minneriya forest reserve and through wild elephant country. A wild elephant crossed the road just in front of our vehicle. Exciting!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by web ex, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your candid review on Amaya Lake We value guest feedback Thank you for your most generous comment on the position and surroundings and most importantly thank you for recognizing the efforts of our dedicated staff. We apologize for the negatives and we will look into them individually. We hope to see you again soon Thanks & Regards Amaya Resorts & Spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2015
Pros: Besides the lake and green environment.
Cons: No comments.
Great relaxing time reading, photographing nature and spa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AUS

Expensive but luxurious

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Drumming on arrival not pleasant when hot and had headache,staff were welcoming but one was hassling us to hurry. Room was lovely, pool also, food excellent - all this luxury costs a lot as expected. Driver well looked after.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sri lanka

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Bad experience at checkout ! Reception staff must improve.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Never again !

Posted Mar 10, 2015
If you like to have gecko in your room it's a perfect place to stay I understand that there is forest outise rooms should be preserved for such inconvenience. 1 night and 5 geckos were enough to hate that experience !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sri Lanka

Nice hotel but uncomfortable service

Posted Dec 24, 2014
The hotel is nice and big. The room is very good except the shower room leaking water. The room is far away from the lobby. So in the wet season it will take almost an hour to get a vehicle to take you to the lobby. Really annoyed. Meanwhile the internet is really bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good hotel - closer to the environment

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Location: Lake, Sigiriya, Dambulla Temple
Good friendly staff. Very relaxed, pleasing environment. Room facilities are bit old. Food served in an open area and you can see many flies hanging around - but the food is really good.