Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sri Lanka

Deteriorating hotel. Used to be a nice place

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: Hotel staff who were very helpful and friendly
Cons: Change of management
Location: There are plenty of things to do all around. Good central spot to operate
I occupied room No. 214. This is my 4th stay during the past 04 years. Beds were terrible. Bed springs were all very loose and saggy and it is more like a hammock. Once you get close to the edge you tend to topple over. Had a narrow shave twice. It leaves you with a terrible back ache in the morning. Toilet was leaking and water from the cistern wets the floor every time the toilet is flushed. They said the ice machine is broken and could not get any ice cubes delivered to the room. I just begin to wonder whether they gave me the worst possible room being a Sri Lankan leaving the better rooms for foreign guests. On previous occasions I can't remember encountering a problem of this nature. Even the quality of food has deteriorated and it is not any better than an average Rest House run by local authorities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Visalia, California, USA

Nice and homely

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Enjoyed the stay without any trouble. Can ask for more than this in Bandarawela. Conveniently located. Wish the management good luck!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Quiet and peacfull place

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Quiet and peacefull
Cons: The food ,wish it had more choices
Location: Driving to Ella to see the water fall was good
We enjoyed our stay very much,the weather was good and the staff was very accommodative .the food was 3 star quality .I would visit this place again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colombo

Very old hotel with traditions

Posted Apr 26, 2015
it was nice to see some old hotel staff who had been working there for a long time and they were friendly and obliging as ever and made us homely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stop over and close to the sites in thearea

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: Nostalgic charm and it's l;ocation
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: Vists to over hill country areas .Good train trip to to Nureaaylia.
.. A very enjoyable break.Desoite being in a very busy town , the hotels situation made you feel that you were in the country.. Good food and good service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel where you step back in time!

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: It's old fashioned character.
Cons: Restaurant food and choice. Room was pretty small (Perhaps the original rooms have been halved?)
Location: The town was authentic Sri Lanka.
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It's really like going back in time to colonial times. Big roll top bath, big wooden wardrobes, bacolite switches, metal (hospital type) beds. It's not plush but it's authentic and fun for one night. Restaurant menu wwas very limited and food was ok but staff were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Food was good and service was good

Posted Dec 29, 2012
Pros: food and service
Location: Far away from Nuwara Eliya
Location more than one hour away from Nuwara Eliya - we had booked it because on expedia we had asked for Nuwara Eliya hotels and this hotel was shown on it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Derek from uk

Life in a different era !!

Posted Feb 23, 2012
Pros: A taste of life-gone-by
Cons: Food often not warm
Location: Ideal spot....central but peaceful
Good location,delightful setting,charming interior,friendly , helpful and welcoming staff. Offers a taste of life in another era !! A very different experience which is best enjoyed over a few days rather than the in - and - out style of most tour groups !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

レトロな雰囲気のホテル

Posted Oct 16, 2015
カップルで来るなら雰囲気最高です。友達ともGOOD。トイレの開放感が素晴らしいHotelでした。結婚式の前撮りのカップルにも逢えるかもしれません。朝食のパンはちょっと焼き過ぎが出てくるかも。夜のバーでは頼めばfoodメニューも出してくれてサービスが良かったです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Kolonitids hotel atmosfære

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Location: Seværdigheder:the marker- og fabrikker, vandfald.
Spændende oplevelse, super service, super atmosfære, god mad.