Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Zbigniew from Irvine , CA

Nice place

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
Nice place with nice location ( not directly on the beach ), generally staff are very nice with the exception of main dark where for some reason all guys we deal with where not pleasant at all lily some would expected .
2 out of 5
by Michael from Malmö

Poor behavior in the reception

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay at Bentota Beach started with the staff in the reception being really unfriendly and stating that we don't have a room booked, not until we get them to call Hotels.com do they admit that they have one, however, they don't have a room for us. All in all the wasted more than an hour for us before they told us to come back later in the afternoon. When we got back the service was still poor and they started lying and stating that we are upgrading you to a premium room for the inconvenience, however, that was just bs because we got exactly the room we were suppose to have the whole time, just poorly handled. The hotel it self is fresh and close to the beach with a nice pool. The guys done by the parking were friendly and provided good service. I would not recommend this place, it is not worth the cost with the poor service you get.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated overpriced

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Wotif
Sad and tired is the only way to describe this mould infested tip.Pleade save your money as there are a lot nicer places to spend your money . The bathroom was an absolute disgrace , the vanity basin leaked out onto the floor and light fittings hung out of the ceiling!Complete joke and a very miserable girl at reception . Never again Peter
2 out of 5
by Anthony from Beirut

Good hotel but not so good experience

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was okay. The hotel is well maintained and fun to stay at but staff are not that welcoming. During check in, bookings.com made a mistake and did not send our confirmation to the hotel which caused us to stay about 3 hours at the reception waiting for the confirmation and the receptionist was not that friendly and proactive.
4 out of 5
by Parmeeta from Pune

Good place to chill!

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
We were in room 801...it was one of the oldest rooms in the hotel and it showed. The room needs a makeover and especially the bathroom. I have put this down as a comment at the hotel as well and hope that it will be looked into. The hotel on the whole is a really nice place and the staff is really helpful. I would definitely go back...but maybe stay in a different room :-)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Excellent Location, Very Nice Beach

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Perfect combination of all
Location: Beach, River, Turtle Hatchery
Excellent Location, Very nice calm beach, Very pleasant helpful staff. Pool with a character. Views from the room amazing. Very quiet and relaxing.
1 out of 5
by Steve from Toronto, Canada

Very Poor Experience at Bentota Beach Hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very disappointing, run down hotel. Certainly not 4-star. Room had cockroaches, leaky shower - into the bathroom and bedroom! Beds were good. Hotel reception and buffet staff were unhelpful and uninterested. The only place we got good food and service was in the a-la-carte restaurant. Buffet restaurant had poor food and was dirty. Most waiters could not speak or understand English. The grounds are very well maintained and the beach location is lovely.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ulf

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by sharad from Delhi

Big name nothing to say pathetic is better

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
Nothing great pathetic service in restaurants ordered for French fries for kids came absolutely cold ask for replacement waiter mr priyanthil started eating from our plate and told it's warm not cold and we should eat the fries why to replace he was like giving us orders never to go back to this hotel