Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by NICOLAS

Pas au niveau attendu

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
Globalement assez mécontent du service reçu. L'hôtel semble le plan idéal pour un séjour à Unawatuna par son emplacement sur la plage (au centre) et ses services (restaurant, bar, 2 piscines). Toutefois le rapport qualité/prix n'est pas positif. Les chambres méritent un sérieux rafraîchissement, la climatisation est très bruyante et la salle de bain inconfortable. Par ailleurs, nous avions réservé une chambre de 50m² avec vue sur océan.. uniquement disponible au 3ème étage sans ascenseur (pas précisé auparavant). Ma femme ayant des problèmes aux genoux, nous avons dû renoncer... et avons obtenu une chambre (au 1er étage, toujours sans ascenseur) deux fois moins grande, avec vue sur cour sans intérêt, pour le même prix! Nous avons simplement eu l'impression d'être pris pour des pigeons...
4 out of 5
by Anes from Paris

Détente très apprécié après un tour du pays

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
La plage de Unawatuna a retrouvé son sable après une phase ou il n'y avait plus que des rochers. Le bar de l'hotel propose des cocktails de qualité même s'il sont chères pour la pays ( compter 5 euros en happy hour) La piscine à débordement est très sympa
3 out of 5
by Jarrod from Hong Kong

Get what you pay for.

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Great position. However the hotel and rooms are dated. Sri Lanka is not cheap for good standard of accomodation, so it's not bad value I guess. Good for families, not bad for a group of friends. Very friendly and helpful check in and front desk staff. Restaurant staff friendly but the breakfast was average.
4 out of 5
by Hamish

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Relatively Cheap Hotel in a Great Location

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The ample number of chairs/umbrellas on the beach and the friendly service throughout the hotel!
Cons: The towels (shower and beach) could desperately use an update! Providing WiFi in guest rooms would also be nice..
Location: Its about a 15 minute tuk tuk ride to Galle which I highly reccomend! lots of restaurants along the beach for lunch or dinner. Don't miss the sunset!
Our stay was great-- Unwatuna is a beautiful beach and this hotel provides great access to the beach. We stayed in the newer portion of the hotel and it was relatively clean and very spacious. I can't speak to others experiences in the older building of this hotel. We spent very little time in the room. All of our time was spent under the free umbrellas and on the free lounge chairs out in front of the hotel. The restaurant is nothing to call home about but it wasn't terrible. One morning we missed breakfast and the manager(?) of the restaurant offered us jams/breads and fruit juice free of charge which was very nice! There are plenty of places walking distance along the beach to try out too so don't be afraid to venture out of the hotel. After dinner, we would post up at the outdoor bar where they had a projector playing the cricket matches which was a great end to the night. WiFi is slow and spotty but it didn't really bother us. We didnt use the pool at all but it seemed clean (even if they made a horrible choice in tile color) Overally we had a great experience and I would recommend this to families and/or young couples/friends planning a trip to Sri Lanka.
3 out of 5
by Natalia

Ищите райское место тщательнее

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
Люкс 506, с частичным видом на океан, большой, удобный, с ванной комнатой с джакузи, душем, тропическим душем, мыльными, феном и пляжными полотенцами. Большая кровать с удобным матрасом и подушками, кондиционер, вентилятор, сейф, набор для чая/кофе, 2 бутылки воды ежд, платный мини-бар, тв (русский канал не ловит), бесплатный wi-fi слабый. Насекомых не замечено. Убирали номер ежедн. Просьбы выполняли быстро. Раскладывали цветы на одеяле. Отель на первой линии с широкой полосой насыпного темно-желтого песка, очень крутым входом в воду, с высокими волнами. Родной белый песок - всё, что осталось от Унаватуны - только в самом конце пляжа у храма. Туда и ходили купаться с ребенком 15 мин (берег пологий, защищен от волн рифом). На туке ездили на Джангл-бич песок белый, плавали с маской, волн нет. У нас были завтраки. На ужин сходили один раз. Не вкусно, скудно. В ресторане отеля и в баре кроме 10% в счет включают некий takes, что при и так не низких ценах, дорого. Поэтому кушали в других ресторанах (по отзывам в инете). 150 км от аэропорта Коломбо (на такси 2,5 часа). До основных достопримечательностей далеко. Рядом только мелкие лавчонки, винная лавка - ларек за решеткой. До супермаркета 30 мин пешком. Услуг массажа в отеле нет.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from München

Super Lage direkt am Strand

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Pros: Direkte Strandlage
Sehr schöne Anlage direkt am Meer mit vorgelagertem Riff. Zwei große Pools mit ausreichend Liegen. Am Strand, lokale Anbieter für Tauchen und Schnorcheln. Nettes Personal, meist auch ganz gut Englisch sprechend. Schöne Zimmer, großes Bad. Gutes Frühstück Abendessen meist als Menü.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good spot to relax

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
Good stay at Calamander, friendly staff, solid pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Overpriced accommodation

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Pros: Beachfront location and bar
Cons: Accommodation and breakfast
Location: Lots of dining options
We booked a Luxury room which sells for approximately 250/270 AUD per night and it wasn't up to the standard you would expect for that price in Sri Lanka.(the Hilton in Colombo is half that price) Old towels, no view, noisy renovations (not announced) and TV connection not working for one day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sri lanka

Very close to sea

Posted Mar 5, 2016
Bathroom was bit smelly. Otherwise 5 out of 5 can be rated.