Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UAE

Kandy hotel in front of lake

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Was impressed with band in the open area in front of bar. Food was good. The live health station in the buffet was awesome. Could not find another hotel that made the best salad i ever tasted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great views!

Posted Apr 4, 2017
We only stayed one night but the hotel was in good condition well maintained and clean. The rooms were spacious and had all the needed facilities. The pool overlooked beautiful greenery.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good For Kandy

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Hotel was good for Kandy as you only 15min three wheel drive into the bustle of the city whilst you can enjoy the tranquil of the riverside in hotel. Also good location for site seeing like botanical gardens. Travel office helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Hotel fine but Degaldoruwa Temple Magic!

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: It was fine nice views of river.
Cons: We are not keen on buffets. But in a hotel of this size with mostly tour groups it might be the only way.
Location: The hotel is outside Kandy perhaps walks if weather good get a Taxi to the centre and then a tuk tuk. Traffic is snarled up so avoid rush hour(s)
Unfortunately the day we travelled from Galle to Kandy the weather was absolutely dreadful so the journey took about 7 hours. The hotel was fine we realised very soon that we didn't want to stay for more than a couple of nights in Kandy. A day was enough for us. Not overly keen on buffets which is what is served at this hotel which is big and possibly for groups? The Botanical Garden (allow 2 hours at least) is incredible well worth a visit the flying foxes are amazing! The Degaldoruwa Temple was magical we were the only visitors shown around by the head priest. Good street food and fresh juice very cheap at 60rupees a glass. We found lots of things to buy in "normal" hardware shop lots of handmade coconut cups and spoons incredibly cheap and lovely!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

An attractive hotel out of the city centre

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Location and pool area. Liked food labelled for vegetarians.
Cons: Quality and range of buffet dinner. Good but could be better. No range of bread and rolls at breakfast.
Location: Near War Cemetery, shopping, Kandy dancing, Temple of the Tooth.
The room had a terrace and a beautiful outlook. We enjoyed our stay, the staff was attentive and helpful. The range of food and dining experience was not as good quality as other Cinnamon hotels we stayed in in Sri Lanka but overall pleasant enough. We enjoyed the fact that it was accessible to Town but away from the road chaos. Lovely entrance lobby looking out to the trees and pool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in Kandy

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location. Need vehicle to travel around the hotel. Great staff and meals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice place to stay in Kandy

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Great location. Great pool and views. Good selection of breakfast items. Very nice staff. Room beddings need updating.
2 out of 5
by Christian

2 rooms, double

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
old rooms, dubious colour schemes, poor amenities, no double beds, no communicating rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us. We thank you for the constructive feedback which is truly invaluable to us and we will certainly take the highlighted areas in to consideration for areas of improvement. While thanking you for taking time to write to us, we certainly hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back at our Hotel, for a stay that we guarantee, will be memorable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

“Worn out and jaded.. not 4* for sure..”

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Overpriced and Jaded.The rooms are very basic and worn out even if they have been renovated. We had to get our room changed due to noise from the road. elevators only serve some floors, not recommended for elderly. The hotel is used by travel agents so be prepared for big noisy groups. The pool is very small and crowded with people - we avoided it. The wine list is limited in the restaurant. The food however was decent excluding the samosas. The chef at the buffet restaurant was extremely uncooperative and was unwilling to even listen to our request. "I am not trying to be difficult..." There was also an error in the buffet restaurant billing. Good..Boat ride in the morning in the Mahaveli river and they helped arrange a 7am tour specially for us as we would checkout the same day. Also the front desk and the inroom dining staff did try their best to make things work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maidenhead

Nice hotel in a beautiful setting

Posted Dec 6, 2016
This is a very attractive hotel with good facilities. Food was buffet style and excellent standard. Staff in restaurant were very efficient. Room was clean and comfortable but you had to do down 3 flights of stairs and no lift available. Rooms on other levels were served by a lift so remember this when booking. You node to balance lovely views and peace against hotel being a way out of city. Not walkable