Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice place to stay in Kandy

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Great location. Great pool and views. Good selection of breakfast items. Very nice staff. Room beddings need updating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

“Worn out and jaded.. not 4* for sure..”

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Overpriced and Jaded.The rooms are very basic and worn out even if they have been renovated. We had to get our room changed due to noise from the road. elevators only serve some floors, not recommended for elderly. The hotel is used by travel agents so be prepared for big noisy groups. The pool is very small and crowded with people - we avoided it. The wine list is limited in the restaurant. The food however was decent excluding the samosas. The chef at the buffet restaurant was extremely uncooperative and was unwilling to even listen to our request. "I am not trying to be difficult..." There was also an error in the buffet restaurant billing. Good..Boat ride in the morning in the Mahaveli river and they helped arrange a 7am tour specially for us as we would checkout the same day. Also the front desk and the inroom dining staff did try their best to make things work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maidenhead

Nice hotel in a beautiful setting

Posted Dec 6, 2016
This is a very attractive hotel with good facilities. Food was buffet style and excellent standard. Staff in restaurant were very efficient. Room was clean and comfortable but you had to do down 3 flights of stairs and no lift available. Rooms on other levels were served by a lift so remember this when booking. You node to balance lovely views and peace against hotel being a way out of city. Not walkable
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UAE

Terrible outdated hotel!

Posted Dec 3, 2016
To start with the hotel itself is very poorly maintained , the traffic noises can be heard in the room, not exactly what you want in a resort in the mountains, hotel staff is not hospitable at all,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location away from busy Kandy

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
A beautiful location away from the hustle and bustle of Kandy town. Is a little difficult to locate but is located in a very serene setting along the river. Excellent buffet dinner and breakfast as well as superb bar menu options. Rooms were well appointed and comfortable. Service lacked on the professional side given it is a five-star property.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
The AC in the room was not working. Called the reception and the maintenance staff came quick but all they did was reset the thermostat but the AC system never worked all night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel location is beautiful, when you first walk in the view is really breathtaking and we received a very warm welcome from the staff. Staff very friendly and helpful, food at the buffet was excellent, room was comfortable. Couple of reasons I haven't given top marks, the A la Carte restaurant by the river was always empty, we tried to eat there a couple of times but there didn't seem to be any staff in there. We did eat at the lobby bar and ordered salads which were not very good. We ate there again in the evening and the food (pasta) was much better. The room was nice however the walls seemed very thin and we did not sleep well at all, there was also a lot of what sounded like construction noises in the very early morning. The staff were extremely friendly however both check in and check out seemed to take rather a long time, this really needs to be more efficient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Good Location Poor Hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
Overall the experience was average. The staff was courteous and friendly like everywhere else in SriLanka. Hotel rooms and bathrooms are in dismal condition though. The lobby facing the pool is nice and ao is the gazebo overlooking the river. There is little to choose from the 2 restaurants of which 1 seemed to be closed most.of the time. Buffet did not have many choices either. The hotel did not delight in either comfort, hygiene or food.
5 out of 5
by Johnny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wow

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: The view, the food and the quality of service.
Location: It is a 10 min car ride away from any other facilities, but you dont need anything when you have it all there.
Lovely to come back to after a hectic busy day sightseeing to the calm and beautiful view of the river and pool. It is away from the business of Kandy, very restful. There was live music most nights.