Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Secret garden

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Hotels
Really relaxibg surroundings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Relaxing retreat with a great chef

Posted Feb 18, 2015
We had a relaxing stay here and although didn't take part in Ayurveda were very impressed with the facilities. The hotel chef was great and offered delicious seafood fresh from the market that day. Bentota beach was a short boat ride away. The bungalows are lovely, spacious and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

recommended!

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Perfect if you are looking for a peaceful few days or an ayurvedic retreat with a gentle touch, excellent food, beautiful and well-cared for surroundings and staff for whom nothing is too much trouble.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sun lover from London

What a find!

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: Everything, especially that it is so relaxing there.
Cons: It is great the way it is.
Location: They have a free boat that takes you to Bentota beach daily, the Brief garden is well worth a visit and the hotel arranges great day trips.
What a lovely place Dalmanuta Gardens turned out to be. Set in beautiful gardens with only 9 bungalows, a relaxing pool and jacuzzi, wonderful Ayuverdic spa and a beautiful restaurant by the river with fantastic healthy and delicious food. The staff were lovely and very accommodating.
5 out of 5
by CD55 from Surrey UK

Paradise revisited

Posted Mar 1, 2014 on Hotels
Once again, brilliant stay, staff and welcome excellent. Real luxury! Missed the regular chef however as he is recuperating an injury, which was a shame.
5 out of 5
by American in Singapore

Oasis of serenity at Sri Lanka beach communitiy

Posted Jun 3, 2012 on Hotels
Located in a typical Sri Lankan beach community, the visitor finds tranquility as soon as he/she passes through the gates. Accommodations are in spacious bungalows with front porches and private front yards. You are greeted with a large, at least queen-size, bed covered with big tropical blossoms and partially draped with mosquito netting, which isn't necessary (in terms of mosquitos), but looks lovely. Restaurant is excellent, featuring locally-caught fresh fish, and is led by an accomplished and friendly chef - he invited me to witness his preparation of some vegetable curries using local ingredients. It was wonderful and educational. The property is located on the Bentota River, which empties into the sea downstream. The restaurant is riverside, so the ambience is awesome. The staff is welcoming and professional. I will return if ever in the area again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

service

Posted Mar 9, 2012
Pros: The garden
Cons: service
We just got back this morning from Sri Lanka where we stayed in 5 differents hotels. Dalmanuta garden was one of the most beautiful one but the service was terrible.The cleaners was friendly and helpful but the rest of the staff espacially in the restaurant was useless. Minimum 2 hours to get served. There were a maximum of 14 guest in the hotel when we were there( 5 nights).I remember 2 evenings when the 3 of us where the last ones in the restaurant, we wait 54 mn exactelly to have or main course. Food was good but nothing exeptional. We met a couple of Italian who own a restaurant in Ischia they stayed in the hotel for 2 weeks and they told us that they ate in the restaurant the 4 first night but because of being fed up of waiting they decided to eat out for the rest of their vacation.We and they, never saw the pool bar opened.Nobody was coming to see us by the pool (200m from the restaurant) to see if the guest wanted drinks or anything. Beach towel were missing sometimes.The chief was smily but not honest ( you can feel it even if you don't speak Sri lankan) We complained several times but nothing changed. It is a real shame because it is a wonderful place. Garden, pool and river side are beautiful.But a little bit to far from everything. We talked to many guest and we were all agree about one thing: service is not good enough compare what you paid for.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff and owner!

Posted Jan 11, 2012 on Hotels
This hotel located rather far from the Bentota beach and town but you can refresh in a silent, neat and beautiful hotel. Moreover, all hotel staff are very friendly, kind and they serve warm hospitality. You should check this hotel when you consider staying in Bentota area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ветхое место

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
Отель когда задумывался выглядел наверное весьма не плохо но теперь медленно приходит в упадок. Бунгало не первой свежести, сантехника подтекает, белье все серое, халаты похожие на спецодежду работников склада. Территория отеля зеленая и достаточно ухоженная в центре по окраинам буреломы. Номера убирают ежедневно. Раньше давали 2 бутылки воды ежедневно теперь только по приезду. Подсветку по вечерам иногда включают, иногда нет. Ресторан на берегу реки неплохой персонал нормальный улыбчивый, цены чуть выше чем в Бентотте. Есть маленький бассейн и 2 джакузи. Если отель заполнен больше чем на половину то есть трудности с местами у бассейна и в бассейне. Возят на море на лодке. Но делают это очень неудобно в 12 туда в 16 обратно. Если в 12 ни кто не поехал на пляж в 16 вас тоже не повезут. Пляжи не оборудованные, лежаков и зонтиков нет. Будьте внимательны у ближайшего отеля недалеко от места высадки с лодочки, туристов караулит русскоговорящий гид Руан предлагает экскурсии для русскоговорящих обещает что поедет с вами лично и все расскажет и покажет. На практике покупая дорогую экскурсию с русским гидом вы перед экскурсией неожиданно узнаете что у него кто то заболел и он поехать не сможет. Или еще хуже что маршрут который вы попросите невозможно проехать за один день. Просто потеряете драгоценное время и деньги. Все доп. услуги отеля очень дорогие. Есть СПА но все тоже очень сильно б/у.
4 out of 5
by Anna from Stockholm

Superstart på semestern

Posted Mar 2, 2016 on Hotels
Vi startade vår resa i Sri Lanka på detta underbart avkopplande ställe. Helt perfekt start, passade alla i familjen. Perfekt med den lilla poolen också.