Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice heritage hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Very good rooms and well maintained hotel. Very attentive service, buffet and restaurants served fantastic food. Rooms were fresh, linens were clean and everything was great. If at all something can be improved, the Travel desk needs a major overhaul.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McLean, VA

Good

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Good breakfast spread
Cons: The plumbing was bad - water pressure was very low
Location: Good location
The Hotel was good and very traditional. Staff was wonderful. Had a good stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Nice hotel close to the scenic Nuwara Eliya

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: It is an old European style hotel located in the middle of Nuwara Eliya town.
Cons: It would be great if the hotel could expand the Indian restaurant. You feel odd when you see many people are waiting outside while you dine inside.
Location: Enjoy the scenery, and also the opportunities to horseback riding and boat riding are avaiable
The staff was incredibly friendly and we were welcome to the hotel grandly. With thanks to the Travel Manager, Luckshan at Tangerine/ Royal Palm Beach hotel, the room reserved in the Grand Hotel got upgraded to a nice comfortable suite as it was a booking within the same company. We had dinner at an Indian restaurant affiliated with Grand Hotel. The food was quite delicious; however, we had to wait in a line way in advance to get in on time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We liked it a lot

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great and Resting
5 out of 5
by marzieh from Tehran

Great area

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
We traveled with our two kids. We loved the area and view of the hotel, my 7 year old girl also loved the playground in the yard. But wifi was poor and only in public area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Good Stay, would recommend to everyone. Staff were very good and the room was very comfortable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Beautiful hotel, but the service needs help

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Loved our stay but service needs to step up for the caliber and reputation of this hotel. Food around the pool was horrible! Took ages to come and it was really cold when arrived, overlooked burger and raw tuna salad. Absolutely terrible. Buffet at night was good. Service could be more attentive. Tourist who pay a lot for the a hotel like also to be pampered.
4 out of 5
by Rachel from London

Nice hotel - but service needs to improve

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel with beautiful grounds and in a lovely area. However the hotel is hugely let down by the service which was very very slow - it took us nearly an hour to check in and on one occasion we waited thirty minutes for tea for breakfast and it took over 30 minutes before we could even place an order for afternoon tea - not good enough.
4 out of 5
by Miles from London

The best in town

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
Historical hotel that has been slightly expanded over the years but maintains its charm. Great food, including the best high tea on the island, possibly even the Indian sub continent. Rooms are large enough but a little past their best, the same goes for the bathrooms. The hotel has lots of facilities including a billiard room, pub, restaurants, spa, shops and more.