Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Needs some TLC

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Had to move room as there was a leak in my first room. 'Room with a view' consisted of a tiny window close to the ceiling - so unless you are tall no view. Bathroom was filthy - shower looked like it hasn't been cleaned for a good few years. Towels dirty - not sure if they had been sat there for a while or not changes and bed sheets had stains on them. Reception staff helpful but did not solve problems. Good central location. Very disappointing overall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京

清潔でクラシックを楽しめる良いホテル

Posted Aug 1, 2016
10人で6部屋利用しました。蚊が出ると情報をみたので、蚊よけスプレーを皆持ってきて部屋に撒いていましたが、そのせいか?他の場所でも全く蚊には困らず。 4階だった2部屋はバスタブなし。3階はあり。特に4階、シャワーの水圧が弱すぎ、少しでも水圧優先すると水でした。 フェイスタオル、バスタオルあり。毎日きちんとクリーニングされ、スタッフはとても親切です。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

classic historic hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: History, restaurant, views and did I mention history.
Cons: Of course restoration is needed, but understandably expensive.
Location: Central in the Fort area, near the train station and close to markets.
If you like history and classic colonialism this is a must stay. Its like stepping back in time to a more gracious era with doormen and sweeping staircases and large ballrooms and views over the working harbour. Lovely restaurant and four poster beds. Dont expect spic and span, because it needs restoration in some wings, but this is a piece of history worth experiencing. Enjoy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Character Hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Free room upgrade historical feel (like you have travelled back in time, but there is AC)
Cons: Too expensive
Location: close to the Dutch hospital shopping and dining which is lovely
OVerpriced for what you get. Lovely experience staying in a period hotel, but alot of money. They gave me a free room upgrade which was lovely.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brisbane australia.

Ideal for a short stay

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Close to the ocean and nice walks along the beach and just a little out of the centre of the city.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Cons: Hotel needs a complete revamp
Location: Location was good, central.
We paid a decent amount to stay here for the night B&B. We booked the room deemed appropriate for 4 of us but when we arrived they said we all had to sleep in a king bed together. After some arguing they found suitable accommodation. Dinner was a very average buffet. The room was reasonably clean but very dated decor and completely lacked any of the colonial charm we were promised. Breakfast was also very average. Then they tried to charge us for 2 breakfasts despite me showing the booking which said it included breakfast. The food manager was unable to rectify this so we had to go to reception and argue the case there. The general manager did not appear but said we cold have the breakfasts for free.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from andheri india

Close to the Business centres

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Location and view from the dinning place
Cons: Room floring and bathing cubical , which is very small
Location: Shopping and Business
Very good and comfortable stay , with good food and good srvice
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad service, Old rooms

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
we were given a very old room. The aircond and the water heater wasnt working. Despite repeatedly requesting for a room change they insisted on fixing the problem which was in vain. In the end, after 45 mins we got a new room. I would say the customer service of this hotel is unsatisfactory.
2 out of 5
by Andrew from London

Nice hotel name, but nothing Grand about it.

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is from a past era and is useful in getting the train station for any early leaving trains. The breakfast is limited for Western tastes and the reception over bureaucratic in getting things done quickly. This despite the fact that the hotel was empty and more staff than guests. When I arrived at 3am with little time to sleep before my 9am train, they could not take payment as they were having problems with their credit Card connections. In the morning they also had the same and they tried to keep us (and others) waiting until this was resolved, despite being told about my train leaving soon. Eventually, and after leaving my card details with then on trust, they charged me twice! for which I am now having to spend time and effort getting this resolved with my card company!. Not a place for more than 1 night. Pay cash and be prepared to eat elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels