Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nostalgic

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Offbeat location.
Location: Stroll to many Colombo sites or jump in a tri shaw.
The hotel may be a bit tired but its location along the container port makes it an interesting stay. The staff are kind and helpful. The buffet meals are excellent. We were there for over 2 days and had a great time. Air conditioning worked really well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Delhi. India

Nice view from the breakfast lounge

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Stayed for one night only. Hotel was almost empty. New year holiday for all.
4 out of 5
by sally

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful old building but shabby inside. Great View from restaurant. Food not very good. No hot water despite a couple of complaints. Good location. Overpriced for the standard of accommodation
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel claimed we did not have a booking - scam?

Posted Apr 8, 2017
We arrived with 2 small children at midnight having paid 180 USD via Expedia for a suite with 4 beds. There was only one bed in this room and after compaining staff arrived to build 2 more beds. We were offered no apology or even a drink to compensate. In the morning the staff claimed they had no record of our booking and that it wasn't their job to chase it but was ours and the Expedia Voucher meant nothing. They said they did not have an international phone line for us to find out. Later we read this was a common scam in some hotels in Sri Lanka. The hotel is dated and overpriced also, rooms worth a fraction of what we paid. Avoid!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2017
poor facilities hotel room needs renovation and a clean up
4 out of 5
by Devapriya

A hotel with History and unspoilt Character

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
This was a hotel with wonderful history, in being the very first hotel in Sri Lanka. This added to truly make our stay nostalgic... The restaurant was very good and the view from the restaurant was out of the ordinary and great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Old world ambience

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Old ambience and personality. None of the sterile look-alike marble shininess of modern hotels.
Cons: Fresher curtains?
Location: Old Colombo, old markets, old colonial architecture
A very warm welcome, smiling and helpful staff. I was upgraded from a Standard room to Superior room, which while more 1950s style than very old world, was spotlessly clean though a little faded. All very comfortable, and the view from the Harbour view restaurant was stunning. The hotel is right in the heart of old Colombo and so an interesting area for exploring during the daytime. I'd definitely stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They stole my Charger

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
The stole my charger!!! The front desk mention that they never see it. Outrages. No Honesty here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kandy SL

Grand old hotel in fort area

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Nice and central. Lovely view over harbour from dining room. Food good especially their seafood buffet.
5 out of 5
by Nigel

Character hotel with amazing breakfast buffet

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
This was a nice old hotel with character. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot. The restaurant at the top had a fabulous view over the harbour and a staggering array of Western and Sri Lankan food on offer for breakfast - there's even an egg chef!