Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Awesome location fantastic breakfast

Posted Jul 10, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay here and were quite impressed when they offered to make us baby food for our baby. I highly recommend this hotel for families
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paraburdoo, Western Australia

Heritance -

Posted Mar 13, 2015
excellent experience for first time travellers to Sri Lanka - beautiful beach resort that has outstanding services and rooms.. Fully recommend to all travellers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Pleasant stay

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Only stayed over night but the service, views, room and food was fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2015 by General Manager, Heritance Ahungalla, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your preferred accommodation partner in the Southern Coast, Sri Lanka and for posting a valuable review on Expedia.com for the knowledge of our future guests as well as ours. It is indeed pleasing to note that you were happy and enjoyed the unique ambiance and the overall facilities & the services the resort had to offer. Also, we are pleased to know that you felt our hotel is an excellent property and found the staff to be efficient, courteous and polite. We are extremely gald to know that you have enjoyed our culinary experience and found the culinary team to be very helpful. I certainly hope that Heritance Ahungalla have contributed to some fond memories that you can hold dearly. We look forward to welcoming you back to our magical paradise on your next visit! Yours sincerely, Refhan N Razeen, Executive General Manager, Heritance Ahungalla
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Doha

Very noisy hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Overall, I would say this in a three star hotel in European standards. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, however the wooden flooring makes the rooms very echoey. If you are a light sleeper you will wake up as you can hear pretty much every noise from the rooms upstairs. Also, the corridors have stone floors so you will hear people waking by and the noise of room service trolleys in the morning. The hotel is situated in a remote area which doesn't cater for tourists. You are limited to hotel's restaurants which are expensive. There is one more restaurant on the beach. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Serbia, Qatar

Nice hotel, , nice pools, very clean

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Everything was fine, except one thing.Our request was two rooms, adjacent on to another, but they was not provided on the first night, even though it was confirmed to us over the phone. On the next day we were given rooms as per our request in the booking and from than on everything was absolutely perfect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beach hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: location
Nice beach hotel with good restaurants and beautiful beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shane from Bristol, UK

Very considerate staff and beautiful location

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: The people who work there genuinely care about customers. The swimming pools are amazing. Food is brilliant.
Cons: There are sellers in the beach near the hotel who do not give you much privacy.
Location: There is a turtle hatchery and observation point close to it.
Not only were the rooms great value for money; from the moment we got to the hotel we had the feeling that the hotel staff were genuinely pleased to see us. We were travelling off season, so the hotel was not overly busy during our stay. The room was excellent and so were both the swimming pools. The food was exquisite; but what impressed us the most was the hotel staff and chefs willingness to accommodate our alteration to the menu. We are fussy eaters and the hotel was more than happy to adjust things for us. (Like toning down the spices) They even provided my girlfriend with unlimited cups of ginger tea for free when they found out that she had a bit of a cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Disconnecting

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: The bed
Location: It located south colombo and it takes 3 hours driving from the airport.
If you are exhausted and over loaded then you must go to Heritance hotel which located in a very quite village called Ahungalla, 3 hours driving from colombo. The hotel offers a safe and beautiful place that can you and your family enjoy every moment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stuart from Yorkshire england

Overall I would highly recommend

Posted Mar 28, 2013
Pros: The staff, food, room and pools
Cons: Being seen to the locals as a cash machine
The room on arrival was a let down, I'd. Booked a triple room, expecting a fair sized room for my family to find a small room which wasn't 5 star, decided to upgrade to a luxury room which cost an extra 25% but was well worth it, lots of room and in a great location, it was perfect. The staff here are incredible, the service is exceptional. On arrival you are welcomed like royalty and this level of service continued until we left 8 days later. One other let down is the beautiful beach being spoilt by the shameless beach hawkers, one inperticular Charlie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jenny from Bahrain

Beautiful family hotel, great location

Posted Apr 18, 2012
Pros: Decor and location, staff friendliness
Cons: The airport transfer
Location: Great location with direct beach access, near Bentota
Beautiful hotel in an idyllic location with huge pool, good depth for children and direct access to the beach. Rooms are clean, possibly a bit small for a family but would not detract us from a return visit. Good location for visiting nearby attractions in Bentota and surrounding area. We took a day trip out with locals who came to the hotel and found it to be very good value-for-money. There is a good selection available for buffet at breakfast and evening meals and the food otherwise is reasonably priced. If you are taking hotel transport from the airport, ask the driver to take the Southern Express - we were taken by local roads which took over 3 hours but later found out the expressway takes more like 90 minutes. Overall would highly rate this hotel and would definitely return.