Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Forest Uk

Fantastic stay in a converted Tea Factory

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Everything - a unique experience
Cons: Nothing
Location: Just enjoy the location and faciities
This was truly a 5 star experience in a plush old Tea Factory which has managed to retain the essence of its history. We had a lovely spacious room on the 4th floor with dual aspect windows and the scenery was stunning. waking up to the views over the tea plantation with the cool mountain air was very refreshing. The staff were exceptionally happy and helpful and we wished we had stayed longer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2017
It is so small room and noisy and it is far from the town with dengrous road and small can not move two car at same time
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff, shame about the poor food!

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Views and atmosphere were amazing, staff were perfect.
Cons: Please improve the quality and availability of main restaurant food.
Location: Further away then we had expected from Nuwara Eliya and quite a treck up an unmade road. The town is compact with some interesting colonial history.
This is a beautiful atmospheric hotel set in the middle of a working tea plantation. Without exception the staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for us. We ate in the converted railway carriage on night 1 where both the food and the service was great. The main restaurant food however was very disappointing. Within the first half hour of dinner service two of the four curries on offer had gone and nothing was put out to replace them. At breakfast there was no orange juice, only cordial and the pastries were doughy or rock hard. This is almost certainly the worst food we ate during 2 weeks in Sri Lanka
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Quirky hotel in beautiful environment but.........

Posted Feb 17, 2017
We loved the history of the hotel and the drama of the surrounding countryside. We had a wonderful evening in the "carriage" restaurant complete with its own station master. However we were in a room on the first floor which sat above the main restaurant. It was noisy until late at night and then again from 5.30 in the morning. Future guests should avoid rooms 101-107. For the prices charged a reasonably soft mattress on the bed might have been expected. Ours was rock hard. The pillows brought to mind the latex filled versions provided by cheap motels.
5 out of 5
by Jack

Unique experience

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Unique place to stay for a couple of nights. One night is not sufficient to experience the place. Food good, exceptional in the old railway carriage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A unique experience

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: The uniqueness of it, the staff, the situation. The beauty of the surroundings. We had an excellent dinner !!
Cons: Our bathroom was old and tired and would benefit from a complete refurb. The breakfast was also tired looking with stale pastries.
Great views, extremely clever conversion. Wonderful staff.
4 out of 5
by Belinda

Another buffet style hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing conversion from tea factory to hotel in beautiful surroundings. Staff were very helpful. Nothing was to much trouble. One night is enough to see everything. Several actives available. We did the tea picking/tasting. Which was a welcome relief after the long drive from Kandy. Plenty of lunch options to stop on the way if required. Our bathroom was very tired. Full upgrade required as the space is not well used. Difficult to get into bath for shower and toilet squashed against bath. Food is buffet style as the Heritance hotels seem to offer. A la carte is available in same restaurant. Cafe area serves nice lunches and the afternoon tea looked amazing.
5 out of 5
by Thivagar

Truly remarkable!

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing cultural experience!! A truly remarkable and memorable stay. Breakfast was lovely and make sure you do the walking tour around the tea plantations. The messages at the spa were fantastic. Wish I could have stayed longer than two nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Unique Luxury

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Unique, Museum like and the food was amazing
Cons: The road in is very narrow and not that easy to get to from NE
Location: Quite a bit out from NE but worth the trip
Great experience surrounded by Tea Plantations. Very warm welcome in a unique environment. Great to see the old machinery looking brand new and still working!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: It is a unique property and off the beaten track offering wonderful views, I really felt as though I was in the heart of the tea country.
Location: The tea plucking was great fun and a fantastic experience.
Lovely staff, very welcoming and the food was also fantastic.