Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Not Long Enough

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: The amenity of the hotel and the friendly accommodating staff were the standouts for me.
Cons: The hotel is a little bit dated however this by no means detracted from my stay.
Location: The shopping and dinning strip directly outside the hotel is convenient. Its proximity to the airport is also quite good.
I booked into the Jetwing Beach Resort around 2:30pm and checked at 10:00pm the same day as I wanted somewhere close to the airport where I could put my luggage and relax in comfort before my 1:00am flight. I paid for a full night for a Deluxe room (with breakfast) even though I didn't use the full night or the breakfast (AUD$159.00). I was very happy with the quality of my room, the facilities (pool area) and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. While the room itself (wall finishes, cabinetry etc.) and the hotel generally is somewhat dated, the finishing's such as bed, bath, shower and toilet were clean and modern and were of a very good standard. It took 20 minutes by taxi at a cost of RS3000.00 to get to the airport rather than the 45 minutes to an hour from Colombo. I would have liked to stay longer and would certainly stay at the Jetwing Beach Resort Negombo again.
5 out of 5
by Sandra Maya

Great colonial style hotel, fab service near airpo

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing hotel, ocean is beautiful but you cannot see a thing and its too wild to swim in most of the time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Good for relaxation

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Staff was generally nice and our checked in even at midnight was professionally managed. Hotel breakfast was good and there were quite some varieties. The pool was superb while you could enjoy the beach lying on the chairs. The room was good while you could relax at terrace too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maldives

Rest stop after long haul flights with toddler

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Definitely what we were looking for after the 32hrs of travel we had with our 17month old - secluded, quiet, scenic with good food and service. Sadly we were first offered a ground floor room that opened right onto kids pool so we couldn't open our curtains since zero privacy. We then shifted upstairs n it was great with balcony. But property needs to badly control the mosquitoes as was too many every where esp near rooms n in rooms. Then they had huge dogs roaming near restaurant. Have to constantly shoo them away while trying to eat. they are so common that service staff too forgets it could be upsetting to some guests (like me who is a tad scared of strey dogs). Spa was horrible n huge disappointment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

business trip with 3 night stay

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
quite standard as compared to like jetwing sea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2016
very nice and clean , good food , close to the beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel-right on the beach!

Posted May 3, 2016
Lovely hotel right on the beach. Nice touches in the rooms like freshly brewed coffee and fruit. Big bathrooms with beach views, great pool, huge breakfast buffet. Didn't eat there in the evening so can't comment on the dinner. Nice service-just incredibly slow (which seems to be the norm for SL!). Highly recommend this place!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel.

Posted Jan 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is right on the beach and an excellent stopping point to relax after a long flight.
3 out of 5
by Adrian from London

Good hotel let down by the building/decoration

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel but lobby and corridors tired and dark, strange drab brown and orange decoration.Excellent staff and the food was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor hotel management

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel itself is fine, but overpriced. We stayed over Christmas and it was clear that despite their best efforts, the staff were struggling with the many guests. Most importantly, they had rented out the hotel beach to a private function with a dj that played loud dance music, making it impossible to enjoy the hotel facilities or even sleep. For a hotel in this price range, I think that's unacceptable