Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Zürich

British style nestled into tea plantations

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: The gardening and views.
Cons: Room interiors feel a bit tacky and especially the shower cabin is not up to par compared to the prices.
Location: Fantastic views, a nice retreat. Go visit Horton Plains from there.
The hotel sits atop a small plateau overlooking the valley which gives it a magnificent view of the surroundings. Lush tea plantations all around and pretty panorama towards the hills on the opposing side of the valley. The whole facility has incredible gardening and boasts some of the most finely maintained lawns I have ever seen. The lawn tennis court speaks for itself. Staff is skilled, friendly and alert. Food quality was quite good and the cook even managed to cook in the dark, when there was a power outage (they do have a generator, but that does not kick in immediately).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old British lifestyle

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
Set amongst rolling green hills with misty mornings and evenings to give it a beautiful cosy feeling
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful and charming hotel with nice staff

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed here for one night with my boyfriend and another couple while traveling throughout Sri Lanka. Very nice hotel on a tea plantation. The grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful at check-in. We took advantage of some of the amenities, including the pool, mini golf, and bar/pool table area. We did not use the spa, though they did offer many different services at reasonable prices. There is a restaurant on the premises, as the location is pretty isolated and there is nothing nearby. The prices seemed high for the quality of the food, and service was somewhat slow. We also paid for breakfast the next morning, which was ok but not worth the amount we paid (then again, given the location, there are not any other options). The room was very clean and nice, and the decor throughout the hotel really gives the feel of being in a colonial tea plantation. There are comfortable sitting areas as well. Overall, we enjoyed our stay though I do wish the food options and prices were better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff in a beautiful setting

Posted Mar 9, 2016
The staff at langdale is world class as if the setting. Lovely and quaint with enough privacy. Great value for money too! Highly recommend a visit and a must for Nuwar Eliya.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2016 by web ex, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Langdale by Amaya We are simply thrilled to hear such amazing reviews on the property We hope your next stay with us is just around the corner Thanks & Regards Amaya Resorts & Spa
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible customer service, not recommended at all.

Posted Dec 27, 2015 on Hotels
Terrible customer service, the so called luxury hotel lacks basic services and the staff is completely withdrawn and unresponsive. Don't even bother trying to call them or email them before getting there, you'll get nowhere. The view is the only thing good about the place, and you can just get that by driving by the area and stopping to enjoy the view. (Food was also good, in all fairness)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Web EX, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Langdale by Amaya We value guest feedback. We are truly sorry the staff and quality of service did not match your expectations. Please do let us know improvements we can offer to ensure this does not happen in the future Thanks & Regards Amaya Resorts & Spa
4 out of 5
by Ather from Nuwara Eliya

Ather

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
Good Surroundings
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Web EX, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review Langdale by Amaya We are simply thrilled to hear such amazing reviews on the property We hope your next stay with us is just around the corner Thanks & Regards Amaya Resorts & Spa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from french leaving in Dubai

nice hotel, small size excellent staff, Nesakumar

Posted Nov 12, 2015
Pros: situation, calm
Cons: the lining smell somehow the moisture, need renovation or total cleanness to remove this smell
Location: nice walk around the the montain, very nice botanic garden within less than an hour
disappointing because too far from airport (5 hours) prelim with Srilanka is that the issue travel is below 30 KPH in general. People very nice and kind. this hotel has many facilities and spa is welcome with different option. Food excellent and top chief very open minded. good wine selection too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2015 by Customer Relations Executive , Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay in Langdale. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food and the spa.Thank you for recognizing the many facilities the hotel has to offer. We do understand that there could be a presence of moisture on the linen but that is due to the climate and weather conditions of where the hotel is situated which is out of our control, but we can best assure you that we hold the best standards of cleanliness and use the best fresheners which would eliminate the presence of such a smell. However this will be investigated in order to avoid this in the future. We apologize of any inconveniences caused and do you wish to stay in any Amaya Properties in the future we would like to offer you a very special package. Thanks & Regards Amaya Resorts & Spa
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

more faulty towers than luxury hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: The hotel grounds are the only luxury part of this establishment
Cons: Everything
This is a newly built hotel, which lacks many luxury items. For example it has shower curtains in the bathroom that touch you when you take a shower- yuk!! On arrival we ordered a gin and tonic, after waiting for 20 minutes I asked if there was a problem and was advised they had no tonic!! The afternoon tea on the first day was abysmal, stale cheese sandwiches and awful choclate cake, the next however it was much better. Only one waiter to serve the whole establishment, as you can imagine he is run off his feet, but they have 2 staff sitting on front desk doing nothing. Do not pay any more than $US 250 per night for the room or you will be very disappointed.
4 out of 5
by STEPHEN from New york

Nice Place but Pricey

Posted Feb 11, 2015 on Hotels
It was a nice hotel but was a bit out-of-the-way it was somewhat expensive for what we actually got The setting was very beautiful and they clearly had spent a good deal of time and money on the grounds The food was just okay the mattress bit lumpy and the towels a bit scratchy
4 out of 5
by nigel from Alton, Hampshire, UK

Chill out in comfort

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels
Overnight stay during a visit to the hill country in Sri Lanka. The hotel is smart and comfortable but very quiet, not a bad thing. Maybe my expectation of just looking forward to having a good drink and a meal being only a one night stay was not met because the limited number of staff meant that my needs were not always imediately met. Food was superb and breakfast on the patio was a highlight due to fine weather and a spectacular view. The issue I do have is that our driver and tour guide had no accommodation provided as there are no drivers quarters or provision for food and drink. He had to leave to find somewhere to stay which is not a good arrangement.