Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Older hotel needs renovation. Beds are very hard. Lots of Asian tour groups and large weddings take over hotel. Too far from town. Expensive food and drink. Service ok, but very slow. Spa was excellent but expensive. Beautiful flowers around pool. Would stay somewhere else next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Let down

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Nice hotel- beautiful landscape. Focused on Asian tour groups. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed for our stay and we were forced to eat in their conference center for breakfast and dinner. Construction noise at pool during day. All that dampened our stay. Hotel is far from Kandy center. would choose another hotel next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Good, but no view The bathroom was not clean Bedsheet not clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in Kandy (not in downtown),

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Good hotel on the river with a good restaurant. The fitness center was a bit run down, but the rest of the hotel and the staff was excellent. Good price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

A little far from everything

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Peaceful setting
Cons: food quality
Location: There is nothing nearby. I your looking for a place to stay and relax this would be good
The hotel is to far from all the attractions that Kandy has to offer. Even though the other hotels are not as nice, they would be better for time management. My girlfriend and I both got food poisoning from the restaurant at lunch time and that ruined the night and most of the next day. I'm sure that doesn't happen often but when it does it is not good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bath, ENGLAND

Old colonial charm with nice staff but dirty

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: The classic cars, the 11 employed drivers, the Ceylon Spa
Cons: Repair the hotel and get the staff to clean the rooms
Location: A good location to explore the centre of Sri Lanka. Its very congested with narrow roads and crazy crazy drivers. Think if Amalfi coast x 5.
This is my fist time to Sri Lanka and you are not sure what to expect. However, you do expect a room to be clean and tidy and in good repair. This is a hotel with lots of staff and there are lots of good points that should be noted. Kandy is in the centre of Sri Lanka and a good spot to stay, the hotel has 11 employed drivers which can safely take you on excursions. If you like classic cars there are lots on display to look at. The Ceylon Spa is very good. The breakfast and diner good. The hotel did get taken over by a huge wedding, which on one side was nice to see, but did overrun the hotel. The rooms were also quite large. The hotel has lots of old charm and hospitality but the rooms were not clean and the hotel needs to be refurbished about 10 years ago. An annoying thing is that you ask one memeber of staff and you get one answer, ask another and you get another. You end up having to ask lots of people to try and work out what is correct. I wish the staff would simply say that they don't know the answer rather than giving you their opinion !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great outdoor area to relax

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Definitely more than 4 stars, it's better than another hotel I stayed in that is 4.5 stars. Rooms are extremely spacious. Location is very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel but pool was freezing

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Nice setting and hotel Service needs improving , waited 45 mins for a drink! In the end cancelled it! Pool is freezing!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lebanon

Disappointing

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: nothing except that the stuff are friendly
Cons: don't believe they have a chance
Not recommended at all... worst experience... to start by the positive point, the stuff are friendly buy the don't understand English well and non professional at all, they don't even know what time they serve the breakfast, and if you have a request every employee will transfer you to second one till you get bored. The worst thing that the room we got is totally different than we have seen and booked on expedia, when we asked why they did down grade, they said you booked deluxe deluxe room and this they call deluxe room. Food is terrible..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lompoc, CA

Great place to stay while visiting Kandy

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: The setting is beautiful. The rooms and hallways were very clean, the staff were courteous and helpful. there was a feeling of pride amongst the staff
Cons: Sri Lankans know how to make a beautiful cup of tea but the hotel's coffee needs some improvement!
Location: One must visit the botanical gardens while in Kandy, take an early evening stroll around the lake, visit the palace and Temple of the Tooth.
We were a bit travel weary when we arrived at Mahaweli Reach in the late afternoon. From the moment we arrived my travel companions and I were treated with such welcoming hospitality that our spirits were lifted. We were escorted to our room by a member of the front desk staff and our bags arrived shortly afterwards. Our driver had nice accommodations as well. After seeing the Kandian drummers and dance performance at the cultural center we chose to eat our dinner at the hotel's restaurant. Each of our choices were beautifully prepared, presented and absolutely delicious. We returned to our room to find the beds turned down, slippers placed near our beds, a lovely bookmark and small bouquet of flowers on our pillows- a lovely touch of hospitality. It was nice to see that this older established hotel had both local clientele and travelers from other parts of Sri Lanka as well as foreign travelers. The hotel grounds are beautifully maintained and if you choose to wander through their gardens you will notice many of the trees and plants have botanical labels for identification. The area around the pool simply invites you to sit and have some type of refreshment and take a dip to cool you down after a hot day of sight seeing.