Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with good views for all of the rooms.

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Nice hotel with good views for all of the rooms. It is quite accesible (max. 2 hours by car IF you take the highway)... Overall a good experience. The only small con is that if there is a lot of rain, the internet goes out... but the staff did manage the situation in a timely fashion...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: new rooms
Location: sea a bit rough
have stayed here 3 times, it needed some work and it shut down to do it. Now alot more modern but still has old charm , great food and people
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Great hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Mermaid is a little Gem. Something you will always want to keep. The staff especially Dilan for his lovely cocktails and Prasanna with his magic tricks at the bar. The restaurant staff were so attentive I felt like a royal. This really is a little but of paradise. Lovely breeze blows across the hotel making the heat very bearable. Cocktail invitation where we met and chatted to the owner. Lovely funny man. He should be very proud of this hotel. I am surprised this is a 3 star hotel. It definitely has 5 star service. We used the hotel to arrange our trip to pinawella the elephant orphanage. Lovely day and very informative. The sea is a little rough with waves and riptides but if you are a strong swimmer then you should dive straight in. The hotel looks straight onto the beach but you will be surrounded by the beach traders trying to get you to go on trips with them. Also the ladies beckon you to buy their sarongs.
5 out of 5
by BALAGURU from Bangalore

Wonderful Stay

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great stay @ Mermaid. Best part is the service, nobody can match their service.
4 out of 5
by JANE

Great food, friendly hotel.

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel to spend a few days after the long flight, before setting off to tour the south of this beautiful, friendly island. Really great food and such friendly, efficient staff. Photo's do not do the hotel justice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great service and excellent value

Posted Feb 25, 2016
The staff were fantastic. The food was very good, especially the vegetarian curries. Hygiene standards were very high. The facilities were fine; a good sized pool, plenty of sun-loungers and an ok gym. The spa is worth visiting - excellent massages.
4 out of 5
by Ashvin

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
It was good &comfortable hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doha, Qatar

Lovely hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Cons: Some lounge chair on the beach would be nice.
This holiday trip was all about resting and relaxing and we did that in style. The hotel is being updated and modernized but as a whole, it's a lovely hotel, great variety of food, opportunities to do more if you wish and overall friendly people. It's a little out there in location (about an hour and a half from the airport) but you can see how there are more hotels being built in the area. We fully intend to visit more of Sri Lanka when we come back.
2 out of 5
by Shani from zurich

not worth it for the money

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
we stayed for 2 nights the Hotel was very pleasant and welcoming very nice :) But it's a type of Hotel which you can stay all day at the pool and relax. Unfortunately if you wanna have a good spot to suntan you ned to be fast and early! Overall the Hotel did look nice and the employers where verry helpfull, the rooms was just to old and to pricy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Relax

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Location,staff
Cons: Cleaning of room, replenishment of water in room
Location: Some lovely high end new Hotels nearby which anyone can use, safe to walk out at anytime
We were welcomed on arrival by the front of house Manager and staff, checked in and shown to our rooms,all very efficiently and very warmly. Front of house Manager said to contact her or staff if we needed anything. The rooms were comfortable and on arrival very clean. The restaurant served an amazing selection of food, European and Sri Lankan, and never the same 2 days running The Hotel closes in May for a referb and in some parts it is needed,ie restaurant The main stay of this Hotel in the staff, friendly, entertaining and nothing was too much for any of them, a lovely stay ,thank you