Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Truro UK

Beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Could be a lot cleaner....it's what I do for a job so I am extra picky. Back of bathroom door was mucky and seal around shower glass panels dirty. Lovely staff and beautiful reception areas. Food good and everyone should try the high tea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property..

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Overall it was a nice experience .. though one thing which I didn't like was the hotel transport which we booked from the hotel for Kandy took us to all the places enroute to get fleeced by shops.. one of them was a spice garden where the sold us fake products on exhorbitant prices .. I think the hotel staff is hand in glove with these organisations..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

the hotel is in a terrible condition, old, smelly

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: the restaurant
Cons: Everything
Rooms were smelly and old. Not worth the room rate of 250 dollars per night.
1 out of 5
by Julie

Cover your ears

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
They gave us a room next to the elevator (probably because we booked thru hotels.com). There's a dance club that played extremely loud music half the night and then from 1am till 5am the water didn't work...so no flushing the toilet. Yuck. I've stayed at other Taj properties and this is nothing like it them. The girl at the festivities desk was super rude. The beach across the street is unusable. I wouldn't recommend this place.
1 out of 5
by Wei

RUN A MILE.. STAY AWAY!!! Terrible Service - Argum

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
RUN A MILE.. STAY AWAY!!! Terrible Service - Argumentative staff- old hotel Stayed 18-21 December in a Luxury Ocean facing Room number 325 , $300 Australian Dollars per night. We booked a luxury room which in all photos on TAJ website and Hotels.com website shows a balcony, upon arrival we were put in a room with no balcony. We immediately advised the reception staff member that the room we booked and all photos showing the room we booked had a balcony. The rude Duty manager then argued with me for 10 minutes about how the photos were just an indication of the room, after 10 minutes of arguing and saying there were no rooms with a balcony available one suddenly became available when I requested a refund. We specifically booked this hotel for a balcony. I travel extensively and have never had such poor service or such argumentative staff in a 5 star hotel. The second main issue we had with this hotel is the complementary drinking water supplied in room, which at this hotel is just in a refill glass bottle which they collect and refill after each use!! Absolutely appalling. I requested water in a plastic bottle like every other hotel in the world supplies and they sent me some bottles which was great, subsequently the next day when I called for some more bottles they said they would send them up, which did not happen until i made 4 more calls with varying responses each time of, we charge for those bottles, we don"t have those bottles, we will send the bottles etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Excellent luxury hotel opposite to the ocean front

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Breakfast , location and friendly staff
Experienced the typical Taj Hospitality and luxury. Excellent friendly staff, breakfast spread was awesome, to suit all tastes. Very friendly Chef and restaurant staff, with personal attention to all guests. Location is good, close to the ocean front, and Tuk Tuks available for short rides. Rooms were spacious, well decorated. Enjoyed the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, California

Brief Stay, Big Mistake

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The gracious staff. The personal approach at check-in/check-out. The fantastic view.
Cons: The uniforms of the doorman and other support personnel require attention/replaced. They are well past due to be upgraded... discolored and frayed.
Location: No doubt, great location. However, we were on a strictly business related visit and therefore had no time to enjoy the unique temptations Colombo has.
We had business in Colombo which required an over night stay. In subsequent visits to Colombo we stayed at the Hilton and Kingsbury hotels, both were a major disappointment. What a pleasant surprise the Taj Samudra turned out to be! Be warned, don't make the same mistake we made. The Taj Samudra and all its beauty and gracious staff needs to be appreciated with a commitment of a multiple day stay. Our brief one day visit denied us the opportunity to really sample the greatness of this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Cons: I need a Bath tub
good view good view good view good view good view good view good view good view good view
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Phenomenal amenities, food, & service

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful rooms, phenomenal service from friendly staff who went above and behind, and amazing food!