Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

dated hotel but spacious and nice rooms

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: room was nice
Cons: building could get a refurb and lunch main meals could be better
Location: on the beach but not the nicest one. Big waves in April, hard to swim
Nice, clean and spacious room and bathroom. Hotel a bit dated, expected more premium quality for 4 stars and from the photos. Great breakfast but lunch (for an additional fee) portion was small and average. The beach is ok but not great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice airy hotel near the beach. Every room with vi

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Great stay. Love the sorroundings. Was fun to walk on the beach and relax in the beautiful lounges. Internet was not working in room and buffet food could be better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice Hotel on the Beach

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Cons: Need internet in rooms - not just public areas
Location: Beach, beach and beach
My husband and I enjoyed our visit to The Palms. It was a convenient location as Beruwala is near (we walked to it but it was a hike). Relaxing, breakfast buffet was great, staff was helpful, but internet was only in the public area and even then only in certain areas in the public area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

Outdated Hotel, with terrible amenities

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Beach front
Cons: Everything! The Palms is in desperate need for renovation, furniture, equipment, pool, .....
Location: Super clean fun Beach, Turtle hatchery, River Safari - Little else
The Palms Hotel in Beruwela looks like it was built in the 70's and hasn't been updated since. The rooms are dirty, with antiquated furniture. The is no internet service available in the room. The Breakfast Buffet is the worst I have experienced in comparable Asian Hotels. The only saving grace is the friendly staff and great beach. Overall I cannot recommend this Hotel to anyone in good conscience - look elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nothing great to talk about

Best to avoid this..

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
The property is beautiful with plenty of wooden architecture n greenery. That is where the pros end. We stayed for 3 nights with kids and regretted every single day. The rooms were musty with strong stench of old furniture. The room towels, bedsheets looked like rags from the last century. The buffet breakfast was the same on every single day with limited options. No fresh juice, no brown bread, cut fruits with flies on it. There are 2 restaurants, and one only serves buffet for all meals. The other restaurant and the in room dining has very limited options, especially for kids. The beach is dirty n littered as it is a public beach. Best to avoid this one at all cost and shift to it next door neighbor in the north. You will not regret at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to be the beach

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The staff, the beach and the pool area.
Cons: Meals if you don't want a buffet for all meals. Coffee shop was closed and A la carte menu very limited or unavailable one night of our stay.
Relaxing and generally enjoyable for our stay. Rooms with balconies very pleasant and a good size.
4 out of 5
by SAMI from KUWAIT

PALMS BEACH

Posted Dec 27, 2015 on Hotels
LOOKS TOO BUSY . PERSONAL ATTENTION LACKING BEHIND.SMALL INSECTS FOUND IN BATHROOM. THE LOCATION IS FANTASTIC AND ATMOSPHERE IS AWESOME. NICE SWIMMING POOL AND BEACH REACH IS FINE.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall a Good Experience

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
The Hotel has good Landscaping all the rooms are seaview facing the Beach its worth the Money.RoomService menu is very limited and they serve only till 11pm
3 out of 5
by Nalin from Colombo

Passable, but overall could be much matter.

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel could be better maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely hotel close to the beach

Posted Jun 9, 2015
I was here with my mum and sister for a couple of nights and it was worth every penny! We were given a room better than that was originally booked and the staff was always really helpful and friendly. The food wasn't as great and was still expensive. Overall, excellent place for a short stay with a lovely pool, garden and beach!