Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Average stay

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: The pool was nice bar the screaming children.
Cons: The dessert was terrible.
Location: There is a beach but not much in terms of things to see or do walking distance.
My friend and I stayed at this hotel after a week long tour of the cultural triangle. I was expecting the hotel to be amazing in comparison to the rest of the boutique type places we stayed. The hotel is clean, rooms are spacious and the pool is nice. However the food was very pricey for what it was and the hotel wasn't as great as I thought it would be. We went during a non school holiday and there were a number of screaming children in the pool so I would ideally look to book a adults only hotel in the future or one where there is a adults only pool. The wifi was terrible although they do offer you a 'premium wifi' that you need to pay extra for... typical! all the other hotels did not charge additional for this. The beach was very average, sun beds on the beach seemed out dated and didn't look like they were run as part of the hotel. I preferred Yala beach and there are a few nice locations along the coast in comparison to Bentota. In short, I probably wouldn't stay here again if I was to return to Sri Lanka however it is a clean hotel as you would expect from a Taj chain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Hotel is a bit tired (decor, general cleanliness) and customer service is not as polished as it could be. Swimming pool area gets very busy and it can be difficult to find a sun lounger - staff not massively helpful in this regard. Location / nearby beaches are great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Over priced

Posted Jan 2, 2017
This hotel isnt worth the money i spent $800/night for the little tiny room provided. Hotel condition was old and not clean at all everywhere, washrooms were dirty, food was poor selection especially for breakast. The only good thing about this hotel is the beach location (swimmerable). I would stayed at the Anatara's hotel and switch the cooks from Taj to Anatara (cuz they cant cook there but hotel was super nice and clean).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Room allotted was facing kitchen exhaust. Changed room on ground floor was garden facing, though the booking was for sea facing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
The stay was fantastic. Though the bathroom was a bit old and not very well maintained and not really fit in the whole hotel as a whole. The services are nice, nice spa, excellent view and fantastic location. Fine dining and drinks are also excellent. Really loved our stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Himanshu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel next to the beach.

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: There was 1 man that served us at fish restaurant and at the Chinese Restaurant within the hotel called Manoj he was friendly and professional.
Cons: Teach the staff not to beg for tips or try to trick you into paying twice
food was great, looks great, the only downfall was the staff. We felt that they were all trying to get money from us in a non natural hotel/ Client way. The Pool attendant was a moody, no eye contact type until our very last morning, then he smiled and told us that we were leaving today. Everyone new when we were checking out. I have stayed in many hotels and this is the first time that I have felt targeted to tip everyone more than normal. The young boy that served us drinks by the pool took our cash, came back with no change and wanted me to sign the bill, it was only when I asked to see his manager that he remembered that we are not all twits. It was very disappointing, as the hotel and surroundings are beautiful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
-Staff polite &helpfull. - Location Good - Noise from train station next to The Hotel - You can find better Hotel with less price in Bantota.
3 out of 5
by Paul from AUH

PAFA

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great beach area. Very helpful staff. The hotel needs a deep clean. Beware, people are reserving several sunbeds and changing location throughout the day. So like me you may not be able to use one.