Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel but

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Hotel has a reasonable location at the beach, the staff are polite and nice but the wifi has never worked during our stay and the staff of the SPA did not show up for work during two consecutive days...Not recommended. There are much better alternatives in Mirissa.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB, Canada

Somewhat overpriced for the facility.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Good location on the beach.
Cons: Ensure the towels, sheets, shampoos, glass dishes are in very good condition. Clean the dead bugs off the walls.
Location: The beach is ok here. Take a tuktuk to nearby Mirissa Beach for a nicer beach experience. No fancy restaurants, ate at some local kitchens.
This hotel is situated nicely on a beach that is great for beginner surfers. However, the rooms are a bit tired. The staff provides nice little touches like flowers on the bed, but then there are oddities like a glass dish on the night table that is cracked and chipped, and squashed mosquitos on the walls that have not been cleaned off. The restaurant is next to the beach, and breakfast was decent, but the flies are a bit crazy. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Bathrobes are sized for very small people - our 5'4" lady found them small so imagine me at 6'2". Cigarette burn hole in the bed sheet, shower didn't drain toward the drain but pooled at the other end. The first two nights we had some open no-name shampoo and lotion bottles which were later replaced with the more traditional screw top bottles. At the end of the day it's a decent stay but we have visited hotels in Sri Lanka for the same price that were far superior in terms of room, amenities, and quality of restaurant.
2 out of 5
by Riccardo from Italy

Need some maintenance !!!

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
First of all the good points : the beach is great and the staff is very nice !!! BUT .... the hotel seriously need some maintenance and care on several points. We are a family of 4 and so we always book 2 rooms. The 2 rooms that they gave us initially had a quite strong smell of mold . In addition to that one of the aircon was dripping water like a fountain and one of the courtains could not be raised . Very kindly they proposed us to change . We visited a junior suite . Very nice big double room , but the mold smell in the bath room was really unbearable. We finally settle for two rooms in one of the bungalows. Quite nice , also because there were much less noise from the main room. OK , still the bathrooms were a bit smelly ( seems to be a generalized issue ), still one of the courtains could not be raised , and we discover later that one of the rooms aircon was indeed working but was not producing any cold air ... and in the same room the fan regulator was borken so it was either not working or producing a noise like an airplane propeller. Result of all that : I was unable to sleep properly for 3 nights . Cleaning in the commonm area also present some opportunities for improvement . The Marriot Hotel construction site next to the Hotel generate quite some dust , which coates the common areas .... and those are not cleaned and you feet get literally coated also. Last surprise , was a couple of metal wires in the pool. So in short : disappointed !!!!
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth from UK

Could easily have spent another night here

Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels
Very chilled. On beach with lovely sand and surf
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

candidacy

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
Decent hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Hotel is nice but very poor hygiene

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Hygiene
Location: Nothing around and you have to take a 10 mins tuk tuk to get to places for dining and shopping
The hotel is nice but more than half of its rooms are empty even in popular season in December so don't book in advance as you will get a much better price when your travel date is near (or even last minutes booking) as most of the rooms are not really booked! Don't believe the booking system. The other thing to complain about is that in the morning buffet room, so many flies are flying around and on the food. The staff paid no attention to this. You can imagine how bad the kitchen can be! It would be easily overtaken by the nearby now-building Marriott unless it lowers its price by 1/3.
5 out of 5
by Chloe from London

Overall a lovely place

Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels
Amazing stay, perfect spot right on the beach. Staff were great, so friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was lovely, from menu or buffet. Definitely return!
4 out of 5
by NSSER

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Leanne from Sri Lanka

family break

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels
We had an awesome time and would love to go back. The kids had lots of fun boogie boarding and it was fun watching the surfers. Hotel was excellently managed by the lovely and very personable Katerina and staff were very helpful. We really enjoyed the food as well. The only drawbacks for me was the building of the Marriott hotel nextdoor, which spoiled the ambience a bit and we found the beds a bit uncomfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction noise out of control

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels
Bring your noise-cancelling headphones!