Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

Peaceful locale on Nagin Lake

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: The ambiance, decor, locale & food
Cons: Would have loved to see the house boat providing a free ride around the lake
Location: Close to Dal Lake and boulevard and shopping centers
I echo the reviews of many folks below. Though we had a booking for 24 hours we stayed only for the night. Overall I think we enjoyed thoroughly. but would have preferred if the house boat providing a free ride around the lake. We had to pay INR: 500 for the same. Be prepared to be swamped by hawkers of myriad types the moment you set sail from your house boat!
2 out of 5
by saurCode from Indore

Bad Choice

Posted Mar 11, 2014 on Hotels
Quality of Service is Poor,They are cheats ,they will cheat showing fake stains on towels.Heating is not proper and no alternate arrangements for power cut.
4 out of 5
by Meghna Girohtra from Mumbai

Pleasant stay, decent service

Posted Nov 11, 2013 on Hotels
My mum and I stayed at Peacock Houseboats for 1 night and it was a pleasant experience. Though, I agreed with her later that her earlier statement 'spending several nights in houseboats isn't that fun'. It can be claustrophobic and limiting, but the charm is nice for a short stay for a family vacation. Our room was fairly maintained and we had good company in the 2 other rooms. Nasir was the man Friday and was very courteous and amiable. The food was basic but tasty. The only drawback was them not providing enough blankets, got very chilly at night (staying on a water body, temperatures differ). They didn't provide heaters or heating blankets, given the all-wooden construction. Overall, I enjoyed the stay and waking up in the morning to see the picturesque, serene Nageen lake was quite the bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mak from Dubai

Quiet & Peaceful

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Very hospitable and an ever-willing (to serve) attitude from the hosts.
Location: A place to chill/relax.....
Peaceful surroundings and a very homely environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect vacation spot

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: # Neatness, location and food
Cons: # Food cost can be re-visited
Location: # Since this is a houseboat, you don't any thing else to do near by except enjoying your pleasant stay.
# Perfect vacation spot # Calm surroundings # No noise and no pollution # Perfect home made food # Good facilities # Not sure about Wi-Fi # Food is expensive # Little away from city
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boat no 10 sucks big time!

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Location: Nigeen lake
Out of my 1 night stay, the hot water was not available for bathing and even when it was provided to me jus before leaving, the water tap was broken and making it impossible to bathe. Pretty disappointing!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sunil Kumar from New Delhi, Delhi, India

A good budget Experience

Posted Oct 4, 2012
Pros: Location, Privacy.
Cons: Non-Availability of TV in the bedroom and even size of TV.
Location: Amazing and peaceful.
Basically it was a houseboat and there were 2 bedrooms and one common drawing room. It was well maintained and clean but the rooms are not much specious. There was no Television in the bed rooms. There is a 14" TV in the drawing room which needs to share with the other guest/family. Since the Breakfast and dinner was included in the tariff but there were not much varieties in the menu since the care taker was liable to cook food in their kitchen. Even you dont had option to buy food from the market as the houseboad was in the lake and to cross you need to pay Shikara charges of approx INR 150-300-.
5 out of 5
by Brijesh

in calm and quiet surroundings

Posted Jun 25, 2012 on Hotels
we stayed there for 4 nights and the experience was awsome.food was very good just loke home cooked.
4 out of 5
by Maitri Pandya

quite elegant

Posted Jun 7, 2012 on Hotels
It was nice to be there. The people were very humble and polite. We wished if we could stay for longer period.
4 out of 5
by D Sharma

Peaceful and Serene

Posted Apr 25, 2012 on Hotels
If you want a quite stay as I suppose one would in Srinagar then there is no better place than Nigeen Lake and icing on the lake (not cake) is Peacock Houseboats. Family owned and operated this chain if houseboats has a very cozy family style setting and hospitality. Must stay for couples, families and groups. Total value for what you are paying.