Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Radoslaw

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by phillip island from phillip island

phillip island

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
very old hotel the group need to spend money on it as soon it will be irrelevant
3 out of 5
by Clive

Faded glories

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is so ideally placed, right in the middle of the road where all the bars and restaurants are. It must have been magnificent in the day, but the staff are trying their best with a very faded product now. We were only there one night and that was enough. Fantastic view down the strip from the balcony, but the room whilst spacious was in need of refurb, as was the whole hotel to be fair. The shower dribbled out and took ages to warm up. Please someone buy this beautiful monument and get it back to its former glory! The other problem is that the double glazing is not sufficient to keep the noise out and so you hear the drunks outside until 4am (this was a Wednesday). No aircon so you need to open windows but can't.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located.

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is well placed at the centre of town. Large room. Lacked air conditioning, an issue in the summer. Helpful and pleasant staff. The hotel did not have the computer centre listed on its details.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Excellent location

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Excellent location, however beds were not comfortable. The hotel needs a major update.
5 out of 5

Nice hotel, pleasant stay

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Although a bit outdated, the hotel is a very fine place to stay. Breakfast is very good, rooms are big beds are cozy and overall clean. I will come back there.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwich

roomy accommodation in historic centre

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: The slightly faded decor and the lack of contemporary furniture. Not the place for boutique hotel lovers. I loved the cherubims in the dining hall.
Cons: Nothing. They should change absolutely nothing at all. They should preserve it, conserve it for future travellers to enjoy as much as we have.
Location: The historic centre of Lodz.
The room was spacious, and included a suite complete with dining table and writing desk. We loved the traditional furnishings and the fact that we could open windows on both sides thus creating a welcome draught: a change from the ever-present whirring noises of contemporary hotels. The members of staff were courteous and helpful. This is one of the best places in which we have ever stayed.
4 out of 5

Enjoyable stay at stylish hotel

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed my recent stay at Grand Hotel thanks to great customer service (reception, restaurant, housekeeping) and good location in the heart of the city. Hotel was established in 1888 and it offers specific 'ambience' which we liked. Lots of Polish film stars and movie directors stayed here. Unfortunately it hasn't been refurbished for a long time, which is a bit disappointing. Breakfast was served in old fashioned and quite impressive Golden Restaurant. Decent breakfast selection. I'd recommend Grand Hotel for guests who would rather stay at stylish hotel rather than modern one.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels