Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Hotel met expectations. Kind, friendly staff. As described.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pensacola, FL

Good location; convenient to Interstate.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Rooms need to be "refurbished".
Location: St. Albans, VT has been undergoing a "revitalization" ..... Bravo-Zulu to the" Town Fathers" .....Main Street and Taylor Park are notable !!
this property appears to be heavily used. Not much choice in this area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Very Clean

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Location, Cleanliness
Cons: More tv chanels
First time using this hotel, was not disapointed. Room was very clean, and comfortable. Staff was helpful and knowledgable of the area. (Where to eat) Look forward to staying again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable but dated (old).

Posted Nov 13, 2016
The room was clean, the beds were very comfortable. The living area and bathroom was clean but dated, the carpet old. In the bathroom, there was what looked like black mold speckles on the wall above the shower. The tile around the tub was grimy. I'm not sure if the hotel allows pets in the room, but my wife and I, who are allergic to pet dander, had itchy eyes and scratchy throat while we were in the room. making us wonder how often the outer bedding was laundered. Our room was on the first floor and we could hear the people above us thumping around as they walked and their faint voices, not much sound proofing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Good location for our purposes.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
It was a good choice for us as we were visiting relatives. The hotel was convenient to their location. Staff were friendly, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. It could use a minor freshening up, new wallpaper, etc., but it was suitable for our needs. We will stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I'm glad to hear you found my staff friendly and the room comfortable and clean. They take pride in their jobs and in the hotel. We try to keep up with the maintenance of each room in a timely manner. However, during this busiest time of year, we can't always get into rooms and do major repairs. Thanks again for your response and we look forward to your return visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Location and friendliness
Cons: The hotel is getting tired looking. The rug in our room had some stains and some of the wall paper in the bathroom was peeling and thin walls.
The staff was wonderful. This hotel was very convenient to our friend's house.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Room had a strong smell of nauseatingly sweet deodorant of some kind. Most likely to mask cat or dog odors. My wife and I are both allergic and we had a restless night. The front desk had told us they allow pets in any room. In my opinion this is a misguided policy that ignores a large segment of the population. Also, the beds are uncomfortable. The walls and ceilings are thin. The breakfast is forgettable. The wifi is pathetic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It is through guest feedback that we can improve our service and product. First, let me apologize for the unsatisfactory stay you had with us. I will try to address your concerns, one by one. We are one of the only chains that take pets at no charge and it is a huge market for us. With as many pet owners as we have as guests, it's impossible to designate certain rooms as hypo allergenic. Our housekeepers spray a deodorizer in every room as the leave as part of their cleaning process. It isn't supposed to mask odors, but eliminate them. It is possible that your housekeeper may have gotten carried away with the spray. We try to offer a nutritious and satisfying breakfast, including fresh fruit, cold and hot cereals, waffles and pancakes, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, and bakery products. Fresh fruit juice, coffee, and milk are also available. I was surprised to hear that you thought our WIFI was "pathetic". We recently upgraded to broader bandwidth and faster speed. Since this is one of the only complaints I've heard, I will have our maintenance team check the access point nearest your room. It's possible it was faulty and caused you some problems. Once again, thank you for your review and once again, I apologize for your unsatisfactory stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VERMONT

only place in town

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Cons: warn us, help us or speak directly to us.
While the check in clerk was excellent and the room was clean, we had no hot water in the morning to shower and were told the whole hotel was without hot water but hey had called someone. Theybreally should make some offer to offset the inconvenience of not having a shower when we get up to leave. Ruined the otherwise nice accommodations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by S. Jones, Hotel Management
The lack of hot water during your stay caught us as off guard as you. We weren't made aware of the situation until everyone started their showers in the morning. We called our boiler people immediately but the damage was already done. We weren't able to communicate information to you because we didn't really have any information to relay. This is a General Manager's worst nightmare and a guest's worst stay. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we put you through. We are installing a second (backup) boiler to make sure this never happens again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Overnite to attend a local event

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Convenient
Easy check in. Room seemed clean. Quieter than expected. Woke up to NO HOT WATER. "Their working on it". No "Do Not Disturb Card". Tissue box nearly empty, run out of tissues. Breakfast was so-so. Pancake maker broken. Limited food choices. Attendant not around.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by Steve J, Hotel Management
Thank you for mentioning the easy check in, cleanliness, and quiet room. Those are important attributes for any hotel. However, no hot water is even more important. We are in the process of replacing one of our 2 boilers with a brand new one. The plumbing contractor did not finish the job on Friday and left us with no back up boiler. Murphy's Law prevailed on Saturday morning and our only boiler failed during the morning. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and I can assure you, it will not happen again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2016
stayed with my kids - fantastic expiriance! good room, good food, nice shower!