Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

walking distance to town centre

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice and good service . Came back to our room one day after a day out to find our door had been left open by the maid . When mentioned to reception they didn't seem to take it too seriously . Nice touch with the christmas wreaths on the doors to each room but not on the top floor where we were and on mentioning this to reception on checkout we were told they were going to do it soon ( noticed this 2 days before so not sure if this was true and if it was then surely priority should be given to guests already there ) . Had a lovely meal in restaurant on first night but service was a bit overpowering as the restaurant was so quiet . Nice comfy bed but unable to adjust heating level so had to turn it off .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2016
This is the second time I have been to this hotel with my partner & we're looking forward to when we can next come for a break. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are clean and well presented & the bed is so comfortable - best nights sleep I've had in a long time. The food is very good & the staff are polite and welcoming. The hotel is a short walk from the town centre so it's easy to pop into town and back again. Really enjoy staying here, such a lovely hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, lovely grounds

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel it very nice, cooked breakfast in the morning is fresh not a buffet. Lovely terrace area to sit and have drinks. Good service. Will return. A little expensive for he facilities you get though eg no pool, one restaurant area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Hilary from Derby

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great service, great food, beautiful setting
5 out of 5
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location nice boutique hotel in St Albans

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: Lovely garden
Cons: When other rooms are available it would be nice to get a free upgrade
Definitely one of the best choices in St Albans. Well located and good condition. Some double rooms are very small (in the attic). Breakfast good but not special. Staff very professional so 4/5 rating from us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would definitely stay again...

Posted May 24, 2016
Lovely hotel. Quiet, comfortable and clean. All staff were assertive, courteous and very well presented. Dinner in the lounge area was very enjoyable as was breakfast the following morning. Room was very comfortable, clean and refined. Looking forward to returning again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay! Lovely hotel with excellent staff in a wonderful location. Breakfast was very good. Lunch was okay. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by Nicholas from North Lincs

Short break in April!

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Very pleasant stay over three nights. Wonderful position. We enjoyed the dinner although the portions were very small. Didn't appreciate the 12.5% service charge so reduced it to 10%. Breakfast was mildly disappointing as there was a limited range of fruits,yoghurts etc; things weren't replenished swiftly and service, whilst friendly and pleasant, was a little slow. We loved the decor of the hotel and the floor manager was very helpful and welcoming. A really good place to stay overall and worth every penny!