Ratings based on 839 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted May 21, 2018
What a delightful, very elegant and welcoming hotel experience! We wanted to see St.Andrews University and town for a bit after our stay in Edinburgh, so we book a night at St. Andrews. We were fortunate to have sunshine and cool (windy) weather to walk around the grounds and down to the Bar and Grill. Accommodations were stellar and breakfast was a treat. We were able to really relax and enjoy all Fairmont's ammenities after a few great, but more hectic days down south. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandria Scotland

Beautiful hotel,well kept acres of grounds

Posted May 17, 2018
The hotel was lovely with well kept grounds,and two 18 hole golf courses if you are into golf,if you are not a golfer the grounds are still great for long walks with beautiful scenery.A free courtesy bus leaves on the hour to take guests to and from The Town of St Andrews,seven days a week.The staff were all excellent.I will certainly be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Relaxing short break

Posted May 16, 2018
We treated ourselves to an expensive break, this was affordable and comfortable. We intended to relax and the room was comfortable and soundproof with a pleasant view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Posted May 12, 2018
Everything was perfect during our stay, which was much too short. Will definitely stay here again and will recommend to others.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2018 by J Keating, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a longer stay soon. J Keating General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paisley

Beautiful stay in a beautiful hotel

Posted May 11, 2018
This was our first stay at the Fairmont and won’t be the last. We found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming (my seven year old daughter even commented on how nice they were!). The room was spacious, comfortable and clean and we had a big window with a beautiful view of the sea. We used the swimming pool which was clean, as were the changing rooms. The games room was also great for the kids and they loved spending time there (could have done with a hoover, but I’m just being picky!). We got a lovely welcome at breakfast by a lady with cropped blonde hair (didn’t pick up her name). Staff were attentive and the food, including the choice, was excellent... could have spent all day there! The only down side was the fact that the family-friendly restaurant, the Rock and Spindle, was closed but it resulted in us driving into St.Andrews (a short 5 minute drive from the hotel) to get a Pizza Express and another walk around the beautiful town which was no bad thing! We’ll definitely be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2018 by J Keating, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay. I am delighted that you and your family had such a lovely time and very much appreciate your comments which I have passed onto the Management team to share with their departments. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you all back again. J Keating General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Posted May 8, 2018
Hotel was very comfortable, the spa facilities were excellent. The best asset of the hotel are its staff, they are the reason we will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2018 by J Keating, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and have passed on your feedback to the Management team to share with their departments. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. J Keating General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2018
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2018 by J Keating, Hotel Management
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to post a rating. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. J Keating General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from HK

Posted May 7, 2018
The staff are super nice and knowledgable. I'd definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2018 by J Keating, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. J Keating General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2018
relaxed and welcoming hotel wished we could have stayed longer
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2018 by J Keating, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a longer stay soon. J Keating General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2018
Excellent hotel in St Andrews. Close enough to town but just on the top of the hill to provide spectacular views overlooking the town and bay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2018 by J Keating, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. J Keating General Manager