Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth

Nicely appointed hotel near the beach

Posted Feb 9, 2018
Pros: Overall, we were made to feel very welcome. The fact that the hotel has maintained most of its original features adds to its charm.
Cons: Nothing identified
Location: A few miles from the historic university town of St Andrews and the West sands ( Chariots of Fire fame ).Plenty to see and do.
From our arrival to departure the staff were very attentive , courteous and professional. Our room was pleasant and comfortable with a view over the immaculate gardens. The social spaces within the hotel were light and airy with plenty of seating set around the original fireplaces .All fires were lit in the various rooms giving them a feeling of intimacy and in turn making it an invitation to spend time there. There was an extensive choice of menu and wines. All the food was locally sourced including that which was grown in the hotel's own large vegetable gardens. The food was nicely prepared and presented.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Excellent Hotel in secluded setting

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Pros: Location and quality of service.
Cons: Although the food was of a high standard the choices available in the A la carte Menu was slightly limited
Location: Ideally situated a short distance outside the town of St Andrews, the golf capital of the world.
This Hotel has been refurbished to a high standard and offers a delightful ambiance in a rural setting yet within only a short drive from St Andrews. The standard of service was excellent and very welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Never ceases to impress, gets better every time.

Posted Jan 27, 2018
Pros: Personal service, high quality restaurant, a wonderful place to chill, and a unique, charismatic character.
Cons: A pool and spa would be a clincher, but strangely, that might erode what is already so special.
Location: West End. Set within stunning gardens. Culture, University, theatre, cinema, tennis, riding, cycling, walks, restaurants. Beaches Coastal Path NRes
Warm, friendly welcome at reception. As requested, quiet, comfortable room and bed, with superb bathroom. Beautiful recently refurbished dining room. Feelgood welcome from staff at breakfast, excellent, attentive yet discrete service. Nothing was too much trouble. Altogether, it’s always wonderful to come to Rufflets and it always holds you with a very special ambience. It just gets better and better. Best place to stay in St Andrews for outstanding high quality 5 star service. Head and shoulders above the rest. No wonder Jack Nicklaus booked this place out every time he played S Andrews!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cathy from St Andrews

Luxury in St Andrews at an affordable price

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Pros: Location , wonderful gardens and great room
Location: Ideally situated close to St Andrews, but near enough to Cupar where I also needed to go
Great experience from checkin to checking out. Nothing was too much trouble, lovely surroundings and great staff.
5 out of 5
by Nicky S from Edinburgh

Excellent hotel!

Posted Mar 13, 2013 on Hotels
I booked double/twin room via this website, and phoned hotel afterwards to ensure that we had been allocated a double. We thorougly enjoyed our stay. Lovely room (Rm 8), spacious with large bathroom, particularly the bath... not jacuzzi though! The breakfast was fantastic (good choice on cold buffet, hot food brought to you direct from the kitchen), though we found dinner expensive. Good food, just overpriced. On our 2nd night we booked The Peat Inn which I'd also recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2013 on Hotels
The actual town of St. Andrews is very small and can be "toured" in about an hour. This LOVELY bed and breakfast is slightly outside of the town, but totally worth it for the service, charm and comfort. I would return there in a heartbeat! They put a bed warmer under your down comforter at night while you're at dinner, so that when you get into bed, it's toasty warm. Other B&B's in the area had extremely uncomfortable mattresses in comparison
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lincolnshire (but originally irish)

great for weekend getaway for couples

Posted Jan 2, 2012 on Hotels
Had only one night stay as visiting Edinburgh for new years so thought to see st. Andrews first. Location is nice, but isolated. Defo need car if yr staying there as its good drive outside st. Andrews. The staff were helpful, polite, the spread they put out for us was nice (great shortbread for example) and when we showed up to breakfast 45 mins late, they were clearing continental but let us have that rather than nothing. Having worked in hotels, this was great!! Menu looked amazing, regret not having dinner in hotel as restaurant in town was terrible & the cooked breakfast menu looked great too (which we missed). Will pay attention to meal times when back again!! Had nice stay. Even my high maintenance partner liked it, has great character. Some stains & paint cracks in our room, otherwise spectacular!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Charming and tasteful

Posted Apr 23, 2011
Rufflets is understandably a top hotel in St. Andrews. While slightly pricey, it has old fashioned charm and elegance, having once been a spacious manor home. Many rooms have since been added, but the lobby and furnishings still scream old manor house. Our room was on the end, so rather large with a balcony overlooking beautiful gardens and the bathroom was enormous with a jacuzzi tub as well as a shower. Loved our room, but the beds were like rocks. We somehow became accustomed to them, but that would be my only criticism. Breakfast was fabulous. The dinner was not to my liking, but then again, Scottish cuisine takes some getting used to. The staff was wonderful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aytr, Scotland

Rufflets

Posted May 16, 2010 on Hotels
Excellent hotel in a very pleasant location and close to St Andrews and its many sights. We also had dinner in the hotel which was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from dumfries

great couple of days

Posted Apr 18, 2010
hotel was excellent - friendly staff, comfortable clean room and great food