Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Sister vacation

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Lots of history and many decorations of the old days. Loved our bright room. Liked the fact that the owner restored this old run down building .
Cons: Nothing
Location: iIt sits on Main Street so was easy to find. Several craft shops to shop at and a pizza place to eat.
Had a nice sunshiny room that was very comfortable. Even a flashlight was furnished if needed and real t.p. Instead of gas station quality. Food was great. Owner shared the history of this B&B which was very interesting. She took time to visit with us. Found out she was very talented in many different areas. Restored this old run down building which was an asset to the economy of the town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashua, NH

Charming

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Identify which floors the rooms are on; fully explain the room sizes; make certain the lighting fixtures all have lightbulbs.
Location: Close to Austin, MN and the Spam Museum.
If a friend was going and needed a place to stay, this would be fine, but I would caution them on room sizes. The owners are delightful, and the breakfast was delicious. The rooms are decorated in a theme of various classic books which is a good conversation piece. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Also, it should be noted, we were going to this bed and breakfast as a stop on a longer journey. If it was a destination or another reason, that changes much. It is a renovated home that goes back to the late 1800s. As such, the rooms are smaller than what might be anticipated. All the rooms in the house are on the second and third floor, (There are two additional buildings.) but that isn't necessarily listed and you will want to check before you book. Because of the age of the building, there is no elevator. The room we had, had a shower. However, there was limited room in the bathroom. (A jacuzzi tub was offered, but it was on the third floor and our bedroom was on the second floor.) The room was small, and didn't include a desk or table from where you could comfortably write or set up a computer. To do so, the third floor or the dining room were other options. The table lamp in the room lacked a bulb, which was tricky. The decor was themed beautifully, but was tricky for a traveler to spread out and organize. Technically, the room could have held three people; realistically, one person would have been comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lookout Mt. Georgia

Badly needs upgrading

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: We ate lunch there; was excellent. The innkeepers were friendly. Many DVDs and VCRs to watch, with compatible players in the room.
Cons: Hire staff. Can't really do anything about room size and bath situation except to let people know before booking that the bath is not in the room.
Location: There's not too much to do in this small town. We ate at Paradise Pizza and had very good food. The location is safe.
We stayed in the Never Never Land room. Discovered you have to go out of the sleeping part across the hall to the bathroom. Any other guest can use the bathroom, although there's a sign on the door that they aren't supposed to. Had to keep our toiletries in the sleeping area. They were short-staffed, so our breakfast was left in the common refrigerator with microwave instructions. We were asked to lock up when we left and leave the key in a basket on the front porch. No one was there, I guess they trusted us not to steal anything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Bath not connected

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Nice place nice people great breakfast. We stayed in never neverland room. Way to small. Could hardly move. The one chair to sit in needs replacing. No air conditioning and bath was across the hall. In all fairness the other rooms were bigger and much different. I would recommend the place but not the never neverland room.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Washington, Iowa

Very nice, but in need of mattress upgrade.

Posted Nov 15, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed two nights there while visiting friends. The hostess and host were very accommodating, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good. Very charming and quaint victorian bed and breakfast. The only drawback was the bed was uncomfortable, we did not sleep that well. A new mattress would improve matters greatly.
4 out of 5
by Cynthia from St. Cloud, MN

Quiet and quaint...

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels
A quiet and quaint B and B in a small town. Lots of interesting things to look at and read throughout both the room and house. Nice breakfast, better than hotels. Room was a bit dusty.
4 out of 5
by Lea from Seattle

Readers spot

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels
Great place to go if you like to read. Each room has a theme, and is decorated to the hilt.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from Denver, Colorado

Charming B&B

Posted Dec 6, 2013 on Hotels
Lovely get away, excellent staff. Very Nice.
5 out of 5
by David Wells

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 23, 2012 on Hotels
What a wonderful place to stay.....Owner and staff couldn't do enough for you and the breakfast was absolutely wonderful....St Ansgar is only a small place so not a lot to do there but can't fault the Blue Belle B & B
5 out of 5
by Charles DePoy

Quaint B&B in a lovely small town

Posted Jul 19, 2012 on Hotels
When we arrived, the manager was out of town. She had left a phone number to contact her when she was not there. +1. She had a key for us placed where we could find it. +2. We were given instructions which room we were to have and told they would be back to see us in a short time. +3 Upon arrival to our room, the air conditioning would not work and the toilet ball broke. -1. We called her to let her know our problems and upon talking with them in person, we were moved. +4 The place we were given was awesome, the air conditioning worked, the Wi-Fi worked, and it was all too comfortable for the night. +5 Her breakfast was one of the most delicious we have ever had at a Bed and Breakfast. +6. We would definitely recommend this place for a nice get-away, honeymoon, etc. Thank you so much for their response to our needs. AND....she is an author and has some of the best "chick" books I've read. Cleanliness ++ Quality of service ++