Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most enjoyable will stay again stay

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: Warm and friendly
Stayed there for family wedding ideal venue staff really great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Elegant but tired

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff. Good location and nice big open log fire in the restaurant area
Cons: Furnishings
This hotel has so much potential but our 2 bedroom lodge room facilities left a lot to be desired. The furniture is old and tired, the bathroom fittings were low cost and poor quality. In fact the thin plastic shower tray moved and creaked so much I was concerned it would break. An upgrade would make a huge difference to what could be a very nice place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nelson NZ

A calm and peaceful environment.

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Wotif
Location: Lovely bush walks, superb views from lakefront (including gi-normous eels).
We were looking for somewhere not too far from home (we live in Nelson) that was quiet and comfortable. We found both. The accommodation, food, and staff at the Alpine Hotel were all great. We did several short walks from the lake front and enjoyed the birdsong, and the good information that is posted along the tracks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coromandel

Alpine Stay

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The lodge is situated right on the door step of the Nelson Lakes National Park. The room was very comfortable and the food in the restaurant was excellent. We would return if the opportunity was available again some time in the future.
4 out of 5
by Lynn

Nice motel

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Our room was lovely in front of pond
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for Nelson Lake NP

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Staff are very good, nice food. Building is old fashion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nelson, NZ

Child friendly and great staff

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Enjoyed our stay, staff were friendly and helpful. Child friendly atmosphere with enough to keep them entertained during meal times in the lounge adjoining the dining room. Overall a great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Nice quiet place to stopover. Friendly staff and good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GB

Nice hotel handy for lakeside etc

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Nice hotel with lovely gardens and within easy reach of lakeside via a path from hotel rear. Rooms basic but comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. Ate in restaurant in evening which was enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by Michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels