Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Lovely! Exceptionally views from the dining room.

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Very close to excellent local restaurants, shops within walking distance of St Helier and superb bus service around the island.
Cons: Glass, not just plastic, beakers/ drinking glasses and bottled water in room. Everything else was lovely!
Location: Excellent location for St Helier, St Ouens Bay, Jersey Pearl, War Tunnels, Durrell's Wildlife Centre superb restaurants and many beautiful beaches.
We were made very welcome by staff who provided a lot of local information.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chester

Excellent experience in a superbly sited hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: .
Cons: .
Location: .
This hotel is wonderfully positioned overlooking St Aubin Bay. A traditional feel to it, and a pleasing/cosy relaxing ambience within the public areas. Staff were quietly efficient and at all times were customer focused. The one bar meal we ate in was of excellent standard, there is a good choice of places to eat within a short walk if one doesn't want to eat in either bar or restaurant. Breakfast offered a wide ranging menu of high quality Our sea view room upgrade was every bit worth it, nd of a good standard with extra large bed. We shall definitely consider option to go back there next time we visit the Island.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Fabulous holiday

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: Easy to get to St Hellier on bus or little train, lots of things to do and see in Jersey
Fabulous hotel, wonderful location overlooking the bay at St Aubins. Staff excellent, friendly and attentive. Excellent room, comfy bed, quiet room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Perfect hotel in perfect location!

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The staff, the location, the views, the peace and tranquility.
Cons: Pool changing facilities a little cramped and linked with toilet facilities.
Location: Just 5 minutes from St. Hellyer, this is a beautiful, quiet and relaxed part of the island, but with so much to do and see.
The hotel lies in an elevated position overlooking one of the nicest parts of the island. This affords it the most beautiful views across the bay both day & night. Breakfast or dinner in the dining area is a double pleasure, not only for the quality of the food being served, but for the views available whilst eating. A short walk downhill to St. Aubin harbour offers some of the best places on the island in which to eat & drink or to just stroll around taking in the atmosphere of the quiet unspoiled quayside, but always aware you are just a 5 minute, £2 bus ride from St. Helier and it's many attractions. Yes the hotel car park is small, but parking is not an issue as the front of house staff have a double parking facility which they manage very effectively. Yes the rooms could be a little bigger, but this is an older elegant property and to be expected, however, the beds are comfortable, the room is clean and well appointed and you have everything you would expect of a four star hotel. Now onto the thing that makes this hotel stand out; the staff! They are exceptional; from the cleaners to the the reception/front of house staff and the waiting/bar staff. Nothing is too much trouble and they do everything with a smile and politeness that is rare these days other than in upmarket establishments where it feels false or forced. The staff here appear to be genuine and go out of their way to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. If and when we return, it will be here!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cotswolds

Nice hotel within walking distance of harbour

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Pros: Views across harbour and bay. Sundays are very busy with people coming for Sunday lunch, so car park very busy as was the harbour area.
Cons: Vary the background music playing at the hotel and at breakfast.
Location: Located on hill overlooking St Aubin's Bay and harbour below.
Comfortable corner room with a view across harbour and sea - good internet access in room. Amenities good within walking distance ( down hill) and access to harbour and range of restaurants and eateries. Within walking distance to Bus Stop and also Tourist Train which runs along St Aubin's bay to St Helier.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with fab views of St Aubin bay

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: The staff were all very friendly & the views are great. Also the beds were lovely, comfy & large.
Cons: The lighting in the room was very dim, could do with dimmer switches, so can have it brighter if you want to read.
Location: Short walk down the hill to the bars & restaurants. We hired a car & explored the pretty villages
Really enjoyed our stay, hotel close to all bars & restaurants.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Lincolnshire

Hotels best feature was its position.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Its Position
Cons: I think my synopsis has outlined the shortcomings.
Location: We walked to St Aubin and other areas each day when we stayed in St Helier.
The Somerville charged for its elevated position. We have paid considerably less in St Helier for better food and Comfort. The entrance and the dining room were the modern part of the hotel, our bedroom was well below what we expected for the charge of £700. for 5. nights bed and breakfast. The bedroom was so tired and the bathroom had paint missing from the skirting board and there was rust around the shower controls. We had dinner in the Somerville on our first night and it was appalling, the limited amount of food on the plate together with the inflated prices for fairly common wine. There were 6. chips balanced in 2s, but this did very little for the stomach. The hotel wanted you to buy more and more courses at their exorbitant prices. We ate out each evening and got much better value for money. We Would return to the same district, but never to the Somerville. I have given in my opinion a fair statement of our experience as regular travellers. G. Burns (Mr).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Good value for the money and well sited

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Site and food
Cons: General decoration
Location: Close to the harbour and restaurants and shops. Convenient for the buses which are good value if you want to explore.
Stayed for a week and really enjoyed it. We did have a sea-view room which we paid extra for but it was well worth it. Very good food at a reasonable price and the service was excellent and people couldn't do enough for us. The hotel itself was looking a little tired but that did not detract from the overall feeling of the place. Breakfasts were more than ample having a choice of English fry-up or the more continental style, or both if you had the appetite! For lunch, we loved the dressed crab which was huge and the menu for the evening meal was excellent and reasonably priced when compared to the cost of eating in St Aubin. The harbour and restaurants were only 5 minutes walk away and although it was up a hill it was quite manageable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wirral, Cheshire

Definitely not 4 * in our opinion

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: The situation.
Cons: See above points
Location: overlooking St Aubin harbour several excellent restaurants, Pedros especially good. Great bus service to all parts of island. Walking and cycling good
Out room was stifling hot and airless, we had to ask for a fan. Soap and shampoo in dispensers on wall (motel standard) no hair conditioner,body lotion, cotton buds etc which one would expect in 4*. Sink plug was broken and sink had crack in it, soap dish by bath hanging off wall. Dinner on first night good, ate out for the rest of our 5 nights. continental breakfast excellent but cooked English was served buffet style, barely hot bacon, rubber eggs, etc first time I've not been served a freshly cooked breakfast in 4*! Room and stairways decor was dull, depressing and grubby looking, needs a make-over. Fire alarms went off twice the first night we were there, both false alarms thankfully but at the time, some people went out others stayed in, no information given and no apology at the time or next morning. Woken up most mornings by delivery vans as hotel has no trade entrance. Certainly not worth the 4* or the 4* price, a very disappointing experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Welcoming and Comfortable Hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The staff were very cheerful and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
Cons: Had to double park sometimes due to lack of space, but not a problem, you just left your keys at reception.
Location: The hotel was in a fantastic position overlooking the bay and was a short walk into the village if you wanted to eat out in the evening.
We enjoyed our stay very much. The room was well appointed, spotlessly clean and had everything we needed.