Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Landmark Hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Position and views.
Cons: Room decor needs to be brighter. Positioning of seating in the library room resembled a residential home for the elderly this needs brightening up.
Location: Fabulous location overlooking St Aubins bay and village centre stretching to views of St Helier on a good day. loads of bars and restaurants nearby.
Lovely stay at The Somerville Hotel. Wonderful position overlooking the bay and beyond with very restful and calming views. Staff were wonderful friendly yet professional at all times, couldn't do enough for us, prompt bar and restaurant service throughout our stay. Our twin room was smaller than expected and over looked the car park which meant our privacy was compromised at times. Over all a lovely time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Beautiful hotel with great views

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Cons: Provision of a ramp to the dining areas and to the gardens for those with less mobility would be helpful.
The Somerville is a beautiful (probably Victorian) white building on the hillside above St Aubin and has fantastic views to St Aubin harbour below, St Aubin fort in the bay, and the whole sweep of St Aubins bay all the way to St Helier and Elizabeth Castle. It has a modern interior, spotlessly clean, with friendly and attentive staff. Whatever you request, nothing seems to be too much trouble. The basic double rooms are just that, comfortable and quite basic but face into the hillside so have no views. The front-facing garden and sea view rooms are much nicer but more expensive. The food is outstanding but quite expensive. The hotel restaurant is where the locals go for a special occasion meal. The only disappointment was that the menu was limited and was not changed during the week we were there. For those with disabilities the hotel has level ground floor access and a lift to all floors. Mobility scooters are available to hire on the island and the hotel reception staff are happy to recharge it each night. Unfortunately the dining room and gardens can only be accessed down steps, so the hotel would not suit those with no mobility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Really great place to stay

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Location and the hotel itself.
Cons: not very practical parking but little can be done about it.
Location: Great location with lots of choice should you want to wonder out in the evening
Great place to stay due to the hotel facilities and location to local amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Exactly what we were looking for!

Posted Sep 3, 2017
My first time in Jersey. I am so glad that my husband and I chose this hotel, it was all we hoped for; spotless, quiet, relaxing, beautiful, amazing views, fantastic food and cocktails, the friendliest staff and yet somehow still so professional, need I say anymore!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

We highly recommend the Somerville Hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Excellent location to explore Jersey. Friendly and helpful staff. The quality of the food served throughout the day was very good.
Location: Great views of St Aubins Bay for the gardens and restaurant.
Excellent throughout. Great restaurant. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent views from hotel looking over St Aubins Bay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views of St Aubin's Bay

Posted Aug 29, 2017
We felt cossetted from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bolton Lancashire

Good hotel in a central position.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Hotel overall is very good. The breakfast was very varied plenty of choice.The position is central, although there is a hill to climb when leaving St. Aubins to get to the hotel. The evening meal was alright, I'm not convinced it was value for money. Great views from the Hotel overlooking St Aubins.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Our bedroom had a slope from left to center and a view of kitchens at rear.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Tranquility

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Beautiful views, the hospitality, cleanliness, and wonderful breakfasts
Cons: Would love it if the hotel could supply a shuttle bus from the town up the hill to the hotel
Location: Location itself is very picturesque with lots of boats on the beautiful blue sea., Craft gallery nearby and lots of eating places
Beautiful hotel, fantastic food and courteous and helpful staff. Our room had a lovely view of the sea and our bathroom was lovely. Breakfast was in a beautiful dining room also looking out to sea and the food was fantastic, so much to choose from. Our only gripe would be that the walk from the town to the hotel was by a couple of steep roads and having ankle and foot problems we found it a bit difficult, but we would certainly enjoy staying at this lovely hotel again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Well maintained hotel in a great location, in easy walking distance to the nearby restaurants etc