Ratings based on 949 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, friendly staff and very clean!

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Clean!
Location: Right on the beach, walking distance to great restaurants
Will definitely stay here on our next visit to St. Augustine!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Adelheid Salas, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Castillo Real and sharing your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our fabulous location. We hope to see you on your next visit to the area. Sincerely, Adelheid Salas General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Beautiful hotel and room, but in need of thorough cleaning, specifically mirrors and windows, furniture needed dusting and polishing. Bedding clean but wrinkled..
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Adelheid Salas, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. We appreciate feedback from our guests. I will address your observations with my Executive Housekeeper, thank you for letting us know. We hope to see you again on your next visit to St Augustine. Sincerely, Adelheid Salas General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice & close to the beach

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Wonderful stay at an exceptional hotel. Will stay again for sure. Only thing I'd suggest is getting bigger flatscreens and to get additional tv channels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Adelheid Salas, Hotel Management
Dear Steve and Dawn, Thank you for taking the time to write a review we like getting feedback from our guests as it helps us to improve our services. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Sincerely, Adelheid Salas General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff espe the front desk

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Just a good stay. Highly recommend breakfast worth extra money
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Adelheid Salas, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Adelheid Salas General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Spacious room - we stayed in a king. This is a half block walk to a beautiful beach. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room darkening curtains allowed us to sleep late. About a five minute drive to a state park with kayak and bicycle rentals. About ten minutes drive to historic St. Augustine. We enjoyed the complimentary lemon water in the lobby when it was available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Adelheid Salas, Hotel Management
Dear Jo, Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of our fabulous location. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Adelheid Salas General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel near the beach

Posted Feb 28, 2017
We had a wonderful and relaxing stay. The hotel staff was so welcoming and accommodating. It's a great place to stay for adults and kids. It's just a short drive from the lighthouse or historic district, and a walk to the beach. We hope to return soon!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Adelheid Salas, Hotel Management
Dear HJ, Thank you for staying with us at the Castillo Real and taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, our staff and fabulous location. We look forward to seeing you soon. Sincerely, Adelheid Salas General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

great location, gorgeous hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: overall quality of the room, building itself, and polite staff
Cons: noise level on the first floor of rooms. We asked to be moved to a higher floor where the hallways are carpeted and much more quiet.
Location: right next to beach, near good restaurants, tram stop right at hotel to have transport to the historical city of St Augustine.
was quite surprised as to the quality of this hotel,..since it wasn't part of the national chain type hotel. But the building was gorgeous, room was excellent, cleanliness and overall was well above average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by Adelheid Salas, Hotel Management
Dear C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel as well as our fabulous location and our staff. I apology that you had an issue with noise but glad that we were able to get you to a quieter room. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Sincerely, Adelheid Salas General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Wonderful!!

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Very upscale, sheets, towels, pillows perfect! The chef at their restaurant takes care of every detail, food was amazing! Very close to beach and restaurants, within walking distance. Staff was friendly. Very clean. Would recommend and will definitely go back!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Adelheid Salas, Hotel Management
Dear Judy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, our staff as well as the restaurant. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Sincerely, Adelheid Salas General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Fl

Wonderful hotel right on the beach.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
I was recommended this hotel by a friend and I didn't expect such an exceptional experience. When you walk in, the decor is immaculate and in an old Spain type of style. The staff were all extremely friendly, knew about the town, and recommended restaurants to me as I asked. But wait, why travel anywhere to eat when there's a classy, delicious, upscale restaurant on the first floor? That's right, 'la cocina' as it's called serves meals throughout the whole day with fresh locally bought ingredients. If you request to eat breakfast at the front desk the night before you get a nice discount. 2 exquisite breakfasts cost me $17 with tip and drinks included. I have one tiny gripe that I'll only include so that it can be fixed for future guests. I stayed in room 315 which is an 'ocean view room'. Well, the room, jacuzzi, decor, shower were all perfect but when I went to my balcony to view the ocean, I couldn't see it because of the Palm tree there. Perhaps it can be cut just about a foot and a half and the guests can see the ocean. Anyway, look nowhere else when needing to stay in st. Augustine, THIS is the place. Let me also say that there is a bus that picks you up from this location which is free of charge if you've purchased the old town trolley tickets. So there's no need to pay for your own gas or parking! Wonderful trip and I'll be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Adelheid Salas, Hotel Management
Dear Frankie, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We appreciate feedback from our guests as it helps us to improve our services. I will have my Maintenance crew look at the palm tree you mentioned, thank you for letting us know. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to St Augustine. Sincerely, Adelheid Salas General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Nice, clean hotel right next to beach

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Location: 100 yards from the beach, and right across the street from Cafe 11
Arrived late for a one night stay in St Augustine. Staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms and common spaces were very clean, and the location was great. Unfortunately we did not have time to try the hot tub or pool, but they looked very nice as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Adelheid Salas, Hotel Management
Dear Tim, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate feedback from our guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon when you can stay longer! Sincerely, Adelheid Salas General Manager