Ratings based on 790 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex, UK

Great hotel walking distance from the beach

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Hot tub, proximity to the beach, friendly staff, clean and comfortable great location
Cons: Nothing, great hotel in a great location.
Location: Do not whatever you do go on the ghost tour, waste of time and money. Trolley bus is good but at 25 dollars you can driving and self park as well.
Very friendly staff, great room especially if you chose one with a hot tube. Walking distance from the beach and short drive to the state park and st augustine attractions. If you get the chance have diner in the Sunset Grill and try their award wining chowder. Highly recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very close to the beach

Posted Jan 28, 2016
The hotel restaurant was enjoyable. Downtown St. Augustine and other attractions are a short drive away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Good quality hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Enjoyed the jacuzzi in the room and a large walk-in shower in the bathroom.
Cons: Meals in the restaurant rather costly but OK for a "special" night.
Location: The city of St. Augustine is a short drive and various things to do there including a visit to Flagler College and the old fort.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Castillo Real hotel. Staff was great, room was wonderful. We had a ocean view room and enjoyed the balcony.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut

ok in a pinch

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Below expectations for Ascend. On the beach on a busy road. Dated decor. The restaurant was closed so we could not experience what may be the best thing about this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Middleburg Fl

Very close to the beach with ocean view!

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Walking distance to several restaurants, short walk to the beach and ocean views from the room. Front desk was friendly and helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LEESBURG, GA

GREAT BEACH STAY

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: Location, modern decor, quiet atmosphere. Beautiful room and huge bed!!
Cons: Only one elevator, so it is a little bit of a wait when you are coming and going with luggage.
Location: Downtown historic district about 10 min drive. Easy parking. Alligator farm minutes away. Shops and restaurants nearby.
Went down for the Columbia Half Marathon. Booked this hotel not knowing it was miles away from downtown district. We were not disappointed. Staff was so nice and the room was large and decor was very modern and comfortable. It was a great stay! We drove into the historic district with no trouble and found parking available everytime we went. Liked this location because it is quiet there this time of year and not congested like it is in town. We also got an extended checkout due to the race and found it so easy to come and go. Will definitely stay here again next year when we run the race again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted Jan 5, 2016
The only thing I didn't like about this hotel is that you can hear your neighbor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Lovely place,close to the beach..

Posted Dec 31, 2015
I'll come back for sure,i love this hotel,after being in Casa Monica,i thought i will not gonna like and it's true:i love it..next to a beautiful beach...a place to hide away and relax🙏🏻
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota Fl

Nice ocean view and close to downtown

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pretty nice place, staff was very accommodating. The ocean view was nice but had a bit of houses that were in the way. We tried to order dinner from the restaurant downstairs but couldn't because they were too busy. It happened twice, but we did order breakfast, which we had to pickup since they don't offer room service. Normally This wouldn't be a big deal but my husband was sick so having room service would've been nice. Overall it was a pleasant stay & we would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice accomodations

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Not far from the beach (about a 5 minute walk). Wish hotel offered umbrellas for the beach. Beautiful room with large shower. Plenty of space for family of four. Only real downside was that the restaurant in the hotel was a bit pricey