Ratings based on 1,352 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Location: Near Old Jain, Fountain of Youth, Trolley stops and Castillo de San Marcos.
Hotel is walking distance from all attractions in St. Augustine. Room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from ohio

Historical Tree Parking Lot Surprise

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Remodeled bathrooms.
Location: see above
The Howard Johnson is in the heart of St. Augustine Historic District. The experience starts upon pulling into the parking lot. We were greeted with "The Old Senator" a 600 year old live oak. Beautiful! The Fountain of Youth park is behind the hotel and tour trains go through the parking lot. An amazing Cross and shrine is close by. While the hotel is older-it is clean with comfortable beds. It is also easily walkable to restaurants and historic sites. It is a short drive to Anastasia State Park/St. Augustine Beaches and Lighthouse. An additional bonus is free parking! For an affordable and memorable St. Augustine vacation would highly suggest.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in St. Augustine

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Perfect location if you want to be in the middle of the tourism seen. Make other plans for breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Moldy room with broken air conditioning.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: The location was great. Located in the historical part of St. Augustine. Close to attractions and the trolley went right through the parking lot.
Cons: Complete remodel of rooms to ensure the health and welfare of their customers.
Location: Located in the historical part of St. Augustine, walking distance to many attractions as well as a trolley available for many others.
Walked into our room, it smelled like a damp moldy basement. Bed sheets were pilled, asked for new ones yet it took over a hour to get replacements because their linens were not on site. A/C did not work well enough to cool room down. We asked for a fan, it was delivered quickly. Realized in the morning where the smell was coming from; the back of the nightstand was covered in mold as well as the carpet against the walls and the baseboards. We noticed new furniture being delivered the day before, hopefully it was to replace these items. Had trouble getting hot water in the shower that morning, a maintenance man had to come in and help.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Location: Great location. Close to many places.
The hotel is in need of some up-dating. This is an old motel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Very nice area. Lots to do. Locals very friendly

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: The cleanliness of the room. At breakfast the hotel ran out of cereal and their attitude was too bad we don't have anymore to offer our guests.
Location: The location was very convenient to everything and the restaurants were terrific.
It was too bad that the hotel really shows its age and had mold in the bathroom. Hotel staff rude. Hotel staff very difficult to understand. One of the highlights on the hotel property is that a tree on the premises is over 600 years old and is a tourist attraction for everyone. There was lots to do. The town is very walkable and there are dozens of other methods of getting around. We will go there again but definitely not stay at the Howard Johnsons.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yulee, florida

Short stay to attend a wedding

Posted Feb 7, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Contacted a electric shuttle service for to take me to a wedding. I appreciated that. The cleaning crew were also very friendly and made me feel at home. The room is showing its age and could use a little face lift. Next time I visit St. Augustine I will stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Umatilla, FL

Nice hotel close to shopping & tourist attraction

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: There is food and pubs all around. Close to the Fort and downtown area where there is excellent shopping.
We found this hotel on expedia.com for a really great rate. Was hesitant due to the star rating and reviews. The staff was super friendly and professional. The rooms were clean, they have some wear but clean and comfortable. Walking distance to food and shopping. We would definitely stay there again. It was perfect for what we needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

location was great. Hotel staff very helpful.

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: very small bathroom. breakfast wasn't great.
Hotel could use an update. Overall it wasn't bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for Motorcycle Traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
The hotel is OK. I would expect a 1pm check out, but was at 11am. No security box in the room. But what I love is the fact that the door of the room was in front of the parking. For what I saw all the rooms were like that. Nice if you go in your bike.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us! You are correct we have a lot of not only motorcycle clubs that stay with us but also car clubs because of the convenience of the first floor and the parking right outside your room! We do offer extended checkouts and/or Free Parking for the day of check out to our guests at times as well. Feel free on your next visit to take us up on it. I look forward to seeing you again!