Ratings based on 1,431 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The staff was friendly and accommodating, breakfast was good. Room was clean, Price was not bad
Cons: rusty hinges on bathroom door, walls badly scraped up, sloppy paint job, chipped pealing ceiling. AC unit sounded like it was going to take flight
Location: not close to downtown at all like we had hoped
Spent a week on a beautiful ocean front beach house in St. Augustine. We needed a place to stay for our last night before we flew back to Cleveland so we booked the Bird. We were led to believe the hotel was close (a quick walk) to downtown. This hotel is not close to downtown at all. The pictures on the website looked inviting. The price was good. The reviews were great. We were disappointed as soon as we pulled up the Inn (scratch that, MOTEL) Perhaps it was because we just spent the past week living like royalty in a palatial palace. Although the Jaybird was very clean, it wasn't how it was portrayed on the Expedia site Two star Motel at best. If you are just looking for an inexpensive one night place to lay your head, book the Jaybird. If you are looking for the Downtown St. Augustine experience, avoid the Jaybird; unless you are willing to jam yourself on an overbooked overpriced red tram to eventually get you downtown after making stop after stop at wax museums.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delray beach, fl

Close to lots of fun things!

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Staff very friendly, room clean. Air conditioner works great. Near all! Loved it and would go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Topeka, KS.

Great with One main Issue

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The mildew oder is what kept it from being a 5 star rating for us. I realize being in a high warm humid climate makes it a constant challenge. We paid for 3 people, but there were no sheets for the hid-a-bed. We appreciated the availability of the blanket & extra pillow. Liked the cleanliness, spaciousness, free Wifi, free local calls, free parking right in front of our door, pool, very good breakfast, ease to purchase trolley card tickets with shuttle service & ground floor. If we ever have the opportunity to return, we will stay with you again. Thanks
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Fair price and comfortable

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Pros: The room was nicely appointed and clean
Cons: Staff were not impressive in professionalism
Had to wait 10-15 minutes for desk clerk to return from store across the street!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tallahassee, FL

Great value close to Red Train station

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Mattress needs replaced
Location: Red train, Walgreens, CVS and Fort Menedez all in short walking distance.
We stayed 3 nights, enjoyed the pool, short walking distance to red train pick up and drop off, restaurant across the walk way. Only complaint was mattress seemed worn out, we had a king bed and wasn't real comfortable. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando Florida

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Awesome help. If you need anything they are right on it. Easy check and easy check out. Always smiling and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Super cute and great location! Wish we could of stayed longer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Really close drive to downtown and a great price for a good room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, WV

St Augustine Visit

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Price, free breakfast, staff
Location: Easily accessible to all attractions in the City
Older facility, but owners have gone out of their way to upgrade the place, not just a fresh coat of paint. New tile floors, redone the bathrooms, beds very comfortable. Each room has an art theme. Owners are apparently photographers and rooms and common areas are adorned with beautiful natural photography. Close to the tour bus line. Could walk to the bus pick up and ride all over the old city without moving car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great price, nice little place.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
A great jumping off point for experiencing st. Augustine.